November/December - Hawaiʻi & Pacific Films - 2014 Hawaiʻi-Pacific Displays - LibGuides at University of Hawaii

Find DVDs

The Hawaiʻi International Film Festival runs from October 30-November 9 on Oʻahu and November 13-16 on Hawaiʻi island and Kauaʻi. You can check out the schedule and the film descriptions on their website, hiff.org.

If you missed the Film Festival or you just can't wait, the UHWO Library has many films to offer. Try searching our catalog with these suggested subject headings:

You can also combine subject headings to find more specific films and DVDs, like Documentary Films + Hawaii. If you need assistance with searching, please stop by the Reference Desk or use our chat reference. We are more than happy to help!

Find Online Sources

Films on Demand
Films on Demand is a streaming video database. It provides access to licensed educational streaming videos on a variety of academic subjects. The UHWO Library subscribes to the Humanities & Social Sciences Collection.

Find websites and databases about film through the UHWO Library. Unless otherwise noted, all sites require a UHWO login and password.

JSTOR
The UHWO Library subscribes to multiple Arts & Sciences collection, as well the Language & Literature collection.

NZ On Screen This link opens in a new window
NZ On Screen provides clips and full-length TV shows, film, and music videos that were made in New Zealand. There is also helpful background information, like producer names, etc. **No UH login required**

Project Muse
The Project MUSE Basic Research Collection is an interdisciplinary collection designed for institutions acquiring extensively in the humanities and social sciences and will search over 200 full text scholarly journals in fields including literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, political science, gender studies, and economics.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses
This database is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997.
ʻUluʻulu Moving Image Archive of Hawaiʻi
ʻUluʻulu aims to perpetuate and share the rich moving image heritage of Hawaiʻi through the preservation of film and videotape related to the history and culture of Native Hawaiians and the people of Hawaiʻi. **No UH login required**

Hawai'i-Pacific Films from the Display

Boy
Call Number: DVD 2071
It's 1984, and Michael Jackson is king-even in Waihau Bay, New Zealand. Here we meet Boy, an 11-year-old who lives on a farm with his gran, a goat, and his younger brother, Rocky (who thinks he has magic powers). Shortly after Gran leaves for a week, Boy's father, Alamein, appears out of the blue. Having imagined a heroic version of his father during his absence, Boy comes face to face with the real version-an incompetent hoodlum who has returned to find a bag of money he buried years before.

Here is the list of DVDs that were on display at the Library:

Chief
Call Number: DVD 1729
Honolulu, Hawaii; the cross roads of the Pacific. It's the place you go if your own island isn't big enough. It's the place you go to disappear. Semu Fatutoa drives a taxi cab in Honolulu. Once he was a Samoa Chieftain, but tragedy compelled him to cover his tattoos and flee from home. Now he drives in circles, slowly forgetting his old life. But his old life is looking for him, a young girl separated from her family on the eve of a disastrous day desperately needs his help.
E Haku Inoa
Call Number: DVD 2087
A young multi-racial Kanaka Maoli (Native Hawaiian) woman, filmmaker Christen Hepuakoa Marquez, sets out to discover the meaning of her incredibly lengthy Hawaiian name from her estranged mother whose diagnosis as schizophrenic in the 80's caused their family separation. Christen discovers not only herself within the name, but gains a whole new perspective on the idea of sanity and how cultural differences can sometimes muddle its definition.
Get a Job
Call Number: DVD 1854
To save his job as an employment agent, former musician William (Willie K) must get a job for Merton (Eric Gilliom), a bumbling man-child who surfs every day in a place where there are no waves. Meanwhile, William's long-time girlfriend, Laura (Carolyn Omine), cooks up a half-baked scheme to drag her man to the altar.
Hawaiian: The Legend of Eddie Aikau
Call Number: DVD 2085
Director Sam George chronicles the remarkable life and times of the late Eddie Aikau, the legendary Hawaiian big wave surfer, pioneering lifeguard and ultimately doomed crew member of the Polynesian voyaging canoe Hokulea.
Miss South Pacific
Call Number: DVD 2114
Miss South Pacific is a film about the strength, beauty, and intelligence of the South Pacific Island women who competed in the 2009-2010 Miss South Pacific Pageant in Suva, Fiji. The theme of the Pageant, “Preserving Our Environment The Pacific Way,” was chosen by the contest organizers because global warming is now having an adverse effect on most Pacific Island countries, particularly in atolls and low lying coastal areas. Indeed, rising sea levels are contaminating water sources, destroying food crops, and forcing villagers to relocate.
Noho Hewa: The Wrongful Occupation of Hawaiʻi
Call Number: DVD 1758
A critical look at the relationships between the presence of the U.S. military in Hawaiʻi, development, and the alienation of Hawaiians from land and political power.
Nā Kamalei: The Men of Hula
Call Number: DVD 2104
Na Kamalei: The Men of Hula captures the journey of legendary master hula teacher Robert Cazimero and the only all-male school in Hawaii as they prepare to compete in the world's largest hula festival. Beyond deep-rooted stereotypes of 'grass-skirt girls,' the film tells a story of Hawaiian pride as the men celebrate their 30th anniversary in continuing the revival of men dancing the hula.
The Haumāna
Call Number: DVD 2102
When the charismatic host of a struggling tourist show in Waikiki accepts the challenge of leading a group of high school boys through the demanding discipline for a traditional hula festival, he becomes as much a student as a teacher when he reconnects with the culture he previously abandoned.
There Once Was an Island/Te Henua e nnoho
Call Number: DVD 1929
Among the towering palms, crystal blue waters, and white-sand beaches of an atoll off the shores of Papua New Guinea, the people of Nukutoa carry on without electricity and free from notions of private ownership. But the rising South Pacific is eroding their shores, threatening their taro crops and shoreline huts, forcing them to accept federal subsidies to survive. When the government offers to relocate the islanders to the mainland before the sea water overtakes them, the Takuu request instead that environmental scientists investigate a way to save their home.
Timeless Craft, Building Mauloa
Call Number: DVD 2117
Timeless Craft documents the construction of a Pacific Island coastal sailing canoe using traditional tools, methods and materials. Weaving an atmosphere of quiet beauty and reverence, the film evokes a time when the ancestors of today's Polynesians sharpened their rudimentary stone adzes on whetstones and crafted their vessels with grace and artistry, while respecting solemn rituals and ancient spiritual traditions.

2014 Hawaiʻi-Pacific Displays: November/December - Hawaiʻi & Pacific Films

Find DVDs

Find Online Sources

Hawai'i-Pacific Films from the Display

Quick Links

James & Abigail

Campbell Library