Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Resources from the Hawaiʻi State Public Library System
These resources require a Hawaiʻi State Public Library Systems card.
If you do not have this card, you can sign up for one at your local library branch. Click here to see list of locations. If you have questions about these databases, please contact the Hawaiʻi State Public Library System (HSPLS).
Ancestry Library Edition
Census data, vital records, directories, and photos.
Topically-focused digital collections of historical documents. HSPLS subscribes to collections regarding World War II and Japanese internment camps.
Comprehensive genealogical records like census data, vital records, and more.
Access to a variety of resources including periodicals, images, and reference books.
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Includes English newspapers from Hawaiʻi such as the Hawaiian Gazette, the Pacific Commercial Advertiser, The Polynesian, The Hilo Tribune, and more.
Search across multiple collections in New Zealand including libraries, museums, and government agencies.
Made for elementary and high school students, this is a virtual tour of the Bishop Museum's cultural collections. Explore by wao (realms), topics, or age-level.
Explore, discover and view thousands of items held in museums, libraries, galleries, and collections around the world
Hawaiʻi Open Books
A collection of over 90 open-access ebooks published by the University of Hawaiʻi Press
OHA’s Kīpuka Database is a geographical information system (GIS) that utilizes the latest mapping technologies to provide a window into native Hawaiian land, culture and history. Kīpuka links historic data sets to geographic locations reinforcing the concept of information embedded in the ‘aina (land), encoded in the wahi inoa (place name).
Papakilo consists of varied collections of data pertaining to historically and culturally significant places, events, and documents in Hawai'i’s history. Search across newspapers, land records, reports, and more.
Te Papa Tongarewa: Museum of New Zealand
Digital images of the some of the Museum of New Zealand's collections. These items not only include items from Aotearoa but also other areas in the Pacific.
Te Puna Mātauranga: National Library of New Zealand
Browse through photographs from the National Library of New Zealand.
Te Pūhikotuhi o Aotearoa/New Zealand Electronic Text Collection
Search or browse through digitized texts, held by Victoria University of Wellington, about New Zealand and the Pacific.
ʻUluʻulu is Hawaiʻi's official state archive for moving images.Tthe archive is dedicated to the care, preservation, and digitization of film and videotape related to the history and culture of Hawaiʻi. Search the catalog, explore the collections, and watch some clips!