Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UHWO Research Databases
Different databases are owned and run by different companies, and therefore may look differently from each other. But in the same way that Toyota, Ford, and Volvo are just different makes of cars, EBSCO, LexisNexis, and JSTOR are just different makes of databases.
Access scholarly research journal articles from the research databases listed below. The databases are listed in alphabetical order.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A large, multi-disciplinary collection of magazine, newspaper, and journal articles from EBSCO.
eHRAF World Culture This link opens in a new window
A cross-cultural database that contains information on all aspects of cultural and social life.
Ethnographic Video Online: Volume III, Indigenous Voices This link opens in a new window
Streaming ethnographic films, documentaries, feature films, and fieldwork regarding human culture, behavior and society, with a strong emphasis on indigenous issues and perspectives and a focus on Oceania, Australia, New Zealand.
Hawaii Pacific Journal Index This link opens in a new window
Citations to articles from publications related to Hawaii and the Pacific Region. A librarian can help you locate the articles.
Honolulu Advertiser This link opens in a new window
Full-text newspaper articles from November 30, 2002 to May 15, 2010.
Honolulu Star-Advertiser This link opens in a new window
Full-text newspaper articles from June 7, 2010 to present day.
Honolulu Star-Bulletin This link opens in a new window
Full-text newspaper articles from November 26, 1991 to June 6, 2010.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A collection of academic journals with a strong focus in the humanities.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to the full-text of over 200 scholarly journals in arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics.
These journals focus on Hawaiʻi and the Pacific. Most can be found online through the links below or through the databases that the UHWO Library subscribes to.
Unless noted, these digital collections do NOT require a login.
Pacific Studies journal from BYUH. Search or browse issues from 1977 to 2012. The UHWO Library does not have print copies of this title but if you'd like to request one from another library in the UH system, we would be happy to help.
The Contemporary Pacific This link opens in a new window
Only back issues available online; more recent issues can be found in the UHWO Library Periodicals section or through Project Muse.
The Hawaiian Journal of History
Back issues and indexes available online. Print copies of volumes 9-10, 12-27, 29, 31-36, and 38-44 can be found in the UHWO Library Periodicals section.
The Journal of the Polynesian Society
Browse or search issues from 1892 to 2010. Print copies of some of these issues can be found in the UHWO Library Periodicals section.
Thrum's Hawaiian Annual
Thrum's Hawaiian Annual began as an almanac with statistics, weather, population numbers, articles about Hawaiʻi and Hawaiian culture, and other information. Available digital copies from 1875 to 1956. The UHWO Library does not have print copies of this title.