Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Evaluating Internet Sources
There is a LOT of information available on the internet and many of them can look legitimate even if the information is false. Don't get catfished, run your sources through this simple test before you cite!
When was the information published? Has there been new findings that discredit previous information? Do all the links work?
Does the information relate to your topic? Who is the audience? Did you look at other sources and this particular one is the best for your paper/project?
Who is author or publisher? What kind of ending does the URL have? *Remember that just because it has a .org doesnʻt mean it's accurate.
Has the information been reviewed by others? Where did the author get their information? Are there citations you can look back at? Can you spot any spelling or grammar errors?
What was the author's intent in presenting this information? Is this fact or just the author's opinion? Is there an ulterior motive (i.e. to sell you something)?
Useful Internet Sources
Image courtesy of Hawaiian Photo Album digital collection at UH Mānoa.
Includes maps and research about each island and its districts.
Hawaii Alive This link opens in a new window
Made for elementary and high school students, this is a virtual tour of the Bishop Museum's cultural collections. Explore by wao (realms), topics, or age-level.
Searchable Hawaiian dictionaries and reference books, including Place Names of Hawai'i. For best results, choose "Na Puke Wehewehe a pau" or "All Dictionaries".
Hawaiian Legends Index This link opens in a new window
Index of Hawaiian legends. You can search by keyword or browse by subject (including specific place names).
Kīpuka This link opens in a new window
Explore or search a digital map of the Hawaiian Islands by island, district, crown lands, land awards or wahi pana.
Nupepa Hawaii This link opens in a new window
A wide-range of summarized articles from the Hawaiian language newspapers, which ran from 1834 to 1948.
Papakilo Database This link opens in a new window
Search multiple resources (newspapers, land documents, genealogy databases, etc.) for places, people, events, and documents in Hawaiian history.
Punawaiola Ka Huli Ao Digital Archives This link opens in a new window
A large collection of legal documents from the Kingdom of Hawaii, Provisional Government/Republic of Hawaii, and the Territory of Hawaii. Sponsored by Ka Huli Ao Center for Excellence in Native Hawaiian Law at the William S. Richardson School of Law.
Ulukau the Hawaiian Electronic Library This link opens in a new window
E-books about Hawaiian history, culture, and knowledge. Ulukau also provides access to the Hawaii State Archives' Genealogy Index, the Hawaiian language newspapers, and more. Search by term or browse by topic.
'Ulu'Ulu: The Henry Ku'ualoha Giugni Moving Image Archive of Hawai'i This link opens in a new window
The State of Hawai‘i's official archive for moving images.