Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Journals that are focused on Hawai'i and the Pacific; most are freely available online but some may be missing some issues:
The Contemporary Pacific
The Contemporary Pacific covers a wide range of disciplines with the aim of providing comprehensive coverage of contemporary developments in the entire Pacific Islands region, including Melanesia, Micronesia, and Polynesia. It features refereed, readable articles that examine social, economic, political, ecological, and cultural topics, along with political reviews, book and media reviews, resource reviews, and a dialogue section with interviews and short essays. Each issue highlights the work of a Pacific Islander artist.
Hawaiian Journal of History
The Hawaiian Journal of History, first published in 1967, is an annual scholarly journal devoted to original articles on the history of Hawai‘i, Polynesia, and the Pacific area. Each issue includes articles on a variety of subjects; illustrations; book reviews; notes and queries; and a bibliography of Hawaiiana titles of historical interest.
Published by the Jonathan Napela Center for Hawaiian and Pacific Studies at BYUH, this journal is is dedicated to discussion of issues dealing with the people of the Pacific Islands.
Palapala: A Journal for Hawaiian Language and Literature
Palapala publishes scholarly, refereed articles on the full range of topics in the field of Hawaiian language.
UHWO Research Databases
It may be a little more difficult to find Hawaiian and Pacific related material through commercial databases but you can still find some "scholarly" research articles in the databases listed below. The databases are listed in alphabetical order.
Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
eHRAF World Cultures
eHRAF World Cultures contains ethnographic collections covering all aspects of cultural and social life. eHRAF is unique in having subject indexing at the paragraph level. This allows detailed and precise searching for concepts not easily found with keywords.
Hawaii Pacific Journal Index (HPJI)
Hawaii-Pacific Journal Index is one way to "look inside" journals. It is not a full-text database, but it does allows you to search the contents of more than 130 scholarly journals and "popular press" magazines published in or about Hawaii and the Pacific. Most of these are not indexed anywhere else in the world. All of the searching in HPJI is by keyword, and covers the article title, journal title, author, journal date, and an abstract/summary of each article.
JSTOR Language & Literature
JSTOR is a digital library featuring scholarly journals pertaining to language and literature.
The Project MUSE Basic Research Collection is an interdisciplinary collection designed for institutions acquiring extensively in the humanities and social sciences and will search over 200 full text scholarly journals in fields including literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, political science, gender studies, and economics.
UHWO Library Research Databases
Access a list of other UHWO Library research databases.