Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find Books and E-books
Image from Kōkua Hawaiʻi Foundation.
With the Hōkūleʻa and Hikianalia recently departing on a worldwide voyage named Mālama Honua, there has been a surge in interest for canoes and voyaging. Check out what kind of resources the UHWO Library can offer!
Use the suggested subject headings below to find books and e-books through Voyager or OneSearch:
If you find a book in OneSearch or Voyager that the UHWO Library does not have, you can request it through the Intra-system Loan program. Keep in mind that it may take up to 7-10 days for the item to arrive at our library.
If you'd like to get updates on the Mālama Honua voyage, follow the Hōkūleʻa Crew and ʻŌiwi TV on Facebook and Instagram (@hokuleawwv @oiwitv).
Here are a few websites that offer more information about voyaging, including wayfinding.
Polynesian Voyaging Society Archives This link opens in a new window
Take a glimpse at the Polynesian Voyaging Society's archives. Includes primary documents from previous Hōkūleʻa voyages.
ʻŌiwi TV This link opens in a new window
Get videos and updates on the Hōkūleʻa and Hikianalia from the Oiwi TV crew who have accompanied the two canoes on their worldwide voyage!
ʻUluʻulu - Hōkūleʻa Theme
See clips of the Hōkūleʻa and the Polynesian Voyaging Society courtest of ʻUluʻulu: The Henry Kuʻualoha Giugni Moving Image Archive of Hawaiʻi (located in the UHWO Library).
While each database has its own way of searching, you can try search terms like "Voyaging and Polynesia" or "Hokulea". If you need assistance with using our databases, please see the librarian at the Reference Desk or contact us via email or phone. These databases are restricted for use by UHWO students and faculty.
Academic Search Premier
This scholarly collection provides full text journal coverage to over 3,600 scholarly publications in nearly all academic fields. The topics cover social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
ProQuest Dissertation & Theses
This database is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997.
eHRAF Archaeology focuses on in-depth descriptive documents of archaeological traditions from around the world. eHRAF is unique in having subject indexing at the paragraph level. This allows detailed and precise searching for concepts not easily found with keywords.
eHRAF World Cultures
eHRAF World Cultures contains ethnographic collections covering all aspects of cultural and social life. eHRAF is unique in having subject indexing at the paragraph level. This allows detailed and precise searching for concepts not easily found with keywords.
Other Media @ the UWHO Library
Our DVD collection is located upstairs on the ʻEwa side of the library. Please see the Circulation or Reference Desk if you need assistance in finding an item.