Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
USDA's International Food Security Assessment, 2017-2027
USDA-ERS’s International Food Security Assessment (IFSA) model is a demand-oriented framework used to project three food security indicators: the number of food-insecure people, the share of the food-insecure population, and the food gap, a measure of the depth of food insecurity. Projections are made for the current year and 10 years out. The model includes information on domestic prices and consumer responsiveness to changes in prices and incomes. Given ongoing low food prices and rising incomes for many of the 76 low- and middle-income countries included in the IFSA model, food security is projected to improve. The share of the population that is food insecure is projected to fall from 17.7 percent in 2017 to 8.9 percent in 2027. Over the next decade, the number of food-insecure people is projected to fall from 646 million to 372 million, and the intensity of food insecurity will also decline by about 40 percent.
Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations
FAOSTAT provides free access to food and agriculture data for over 245 countries and territories and covers all FAO regional groupings
Food Security Portal
The Food Security Portal, facilitated by IFPRI, aims to provide improved food security for the world's poor and increased resilience of global food systems against food and financial crises. The project brings together international, regional, and country-level data, news, and research aimed at meeting countries' immediate food security needs, as well as building long-term global food security. The open-access project encompasses a global research-based monitoring and capacity-strengthening device for successful identification and implementation of the appropriate policy actions in response to food crises. The Food Security Portal is designed to pool information in structured ways and ensure data quality, timeliness, and relevance, as well as the opportunity for collaboration among policymakers, development professionals, and researchers.
Statista is one of the leading statistics companies on the internet. With a team of over 250 statisticians, database experts, analysts, and editors, Statista provides users with an innovative and intuitive tool for researching quantitative data, statistics and related information. The product is aimed at business clients and academics of any size. Consultant firms and media agencies license our services as well as strategy and marketing departments in large corporations from a variety of industries. Our client base includes a wide range of globally active companies and premier academic institutions. Since the launch of the platform in 2008, more than 1,000,000 users have registered with Statista.
United Nations - Environment Statistics
The Environment Statistics Section of the United Nations Statistics Division (UNSD) is engaged in the development of methodology, data collection, capacity development, and coordination in the fields of environmental statistics and indicators.
USDA Food & Nutrition Assistance
Includes links to Child Nutrition Programs, Food Security in the U.S., Poverty & Income Volatility, and More.
This free web resource displays data with colorful graphs and visual displays of U.S. public data. Users can search easily through the interface to find data.
Explore US Census Data
The Census Bureau is the leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy. Use this tool to explore US census topics population, economics, education, business, emergency preparedness, employment, families & living arrangements, health, housing, income & poverty, international trade, and the public sector.
A massive central data source and a handy way to graphically compare nations. NationMaster is a vast compilation of data from such sources as the CIA World Factbook, UN, and OECD. Generate maps and graphs on all kinds of statistics.
State Health Facts
A project of the Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation designed to provide health data for all 50 states on over 700 health topics.