Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UHWO Research Databases
Find articles using databases that the UHWO Library subscribes to. It may be a little more difficult to find Hawaiian and Pacific related material through commercial databases but you can still find some scholarly research articles in the databases listed below.
See some suggested databases below. These databases are restricted to UHWO students and faculty and require a UH login and password.
Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
eHRAF Archaeology focuses on in-depth descriptive documents of archaeological traditions from around the world.
eHRAF World Cultures
eHRAF World Cultures contains ethnographic collections covering all aspects of cultural and social life.
Hawaii Pacific Journal Index (HPJI)
Hawaii-Pacific Journal Index is one way to "look inside" journals. It is not a full-text database, but it does allows you to search the contents of more than 130 scholarly journals and "popular press" magazines published in or about Hawaii and the Pacific. Most of these are not indexed anywhere else in the world. All of the searching in HPJI is by keyword, and covers the article title, journal title, author, journal date, and an abstract/summary of each article.
Honolulu Star-Advertiser archives
Find articles published in the Honolulu Star-Advertiser from 2010 to the present. Honolulu Advertiser and Honolulu Star-Bulletin archives also available. Please see the full list of UHWO database subscriptions.
JSTOR Language & Literature
JSTOR is a digital library featuring scholarly journals pertaining to language and literature.
The Project MUSE Basic Research Collection is an interdisciplinary collection designed for institutions acquiring extensively in the humanities and social sciences and will search over 200 full text scholarly journals in fields including literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, political science, gender studies, and economics.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses
Use this database to access full-text copies of dissertations and theses from multiple universities.
UHWO Library Research Databases
Access a list of other UHWO Library research databases.
These journals focus on Hawaiʻi and the Pacific. Most can be found online through the links below or through the databases that the UHWO Library subscribes to.
Unless noted, these digital collections do NOT require a login.
Pacific Studies journal from BYUH. Search or browse issues from 1977 to 2012. The UHWO Library does not have print copies of this title but if you'd like to request one from another library in the UH system, we would be happy to help.
The Contemporary Pacific
Only back issues available online; more recent issues can be found in the UHWO Library Periodicals section or through Project Muse.
The Hawaiian Journal of History
Back issues and indexes available online. Print copies of volumes 9-10, 12-27, 29, 31-36, and 38-44 can be found in the UHWO Library Periodicals section.
The Journal of the Polynesian Society
Browse or search issues from 1892 to 2010. Print copies of some of these issues can be found in the UHWO Library Periodicals section.
Thrum's Hawaiian Annual
Thrum's Hawaiian Annual began as an almanac with statistics, weather, population numbers, articles about Hawaiʻi and Hawaiian culture, and other information. Available digital copies from 1875 to 1956. The UHWO Library does not have print copies of this title.
Magazines and periodicals at the library
Although magazines are often not considered scholarly resources, some magazines can offer a different perspectives on issues and current events.
Check out the most current issues that the UHWO Library has to offer on the first floor near the restaurants. Back issues can be found upstairs in the periodicals section near the Noʻeau Center.
MANA is a bi-monthly independent magazine for the Hawaiian community and all those who hold Hawai'i dear. Although they have ceased publication in 2015, the magazine covered issues and topics related to Hawaiʻi through a Hawaiian lens.
SPASIFIK is a magazine and identity, connecting people across New Zealand and the Pacific. Check out this magazine for a Pacific Islander perspective on important issues, like health and politics, but also sports, leisure, and fashion.
Honolulu magazine started off as Paradise of the Pacific and now offers insight and news on contemporary issues of Hawaiʻi.