Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Image from Hawaiian Photo Album.
In many Pacific cultures, mythology is more than just a collection of stories and legends but it encompasses a way of life, genealogy, history, and more.
For additional resources, check out the Hawaiʻi and Pacific Mythology LibGuide, see the Librarian at the Reference Desk, or use the chat reference!
These books are located in the Hawaiʻi-Pacific Reference section and can only be used in the Library.
Find books and e-books
Use OneSearch or Voyager to find items in the UHWO Library or other libraries within the UH System. Try doing a subject search for Mythology, <island group name or specific island name> or <island group name or specific island name> Mythology. See the examples below:
The Hawaiian and Pacific Collections at Hamilton Library (UHM) has a number of resources about Pacific mythology, however; many of their items are "Library Use Only". This requires you to physically go to Hamilton Library and look at the item there. For more information on these collections, please click here.
Items from the display:
Academic Search Premier
This scholarly collection provides full text journal coverage to over 3,600 scholarly publications in nearly all academic fields. The topics cover social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
Find scholarly articles and other resources using databases that the UHWO Library subscribes to. The database list below is not definitive and you may find resources in other databases that are not listed. For a complete list, please click here.
Note: These databases are restricted to UHWO students, faculty, and staff.
eHRAF World Cultures
eHRAF World Cultures contains ethnographic collections covering all aspects of cultural and social life.
JSTOR is collection of academic journals in various disciplines. Unlike many databases JSTOR does not have the most recent publications. Its primary function is to preserve access to journals for future researchers. Journal issues are typically added to JSTOR 3 to 5 years after publication.
The Project MUSE Basic Research Collection is an interdisciplinary collection designed for institutions acquiring extensively in the humanities and social sciences and will search over 200 full text scholarly journals in fields including literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, political science, gender studies, and economics.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses
This database is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997.
Open access resources
These resources do not require a subscription or login to access and are available to the public.