Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding articles @ UHWO
As a reminder, these databases are restricted for use by UHWO students, faculty, and staff. Try doing a search for "Mauna Kea AND thirty meter telescope" or "Mauna Kea AND telescope*". If you want more recent results, limit the date range.
Academic Search Premier
This scholarly collection provides full text journal coverage to over 3,600 scholarly publications in nearly all academic fields. The topics cover social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
Ethnographic Video Online: Volume III, Indigenous Voices
This is a streaming video collection from Alexander Street Press with an intensive focus on indigenous perspectives and points of view from Oceania, Australia, and New Zealand. The database includes many frequently assigned films in anthropology, ethnography, and social psychology courses with over 188 hours devoted to the Pacific region.
* Includes the film, Mauna Kea: Temple Under Siege.
JSTOR is collection of academic journals in various disciplines. Unlike many databases JSTOR does not have the most recent publications. Its primary function is to preserve access to journals for future researchers.
Newswires (via EBSCO)
See how the issue of telescopes on Mauna Kea is covered by the national media.
Finding books and e-books @ UHWO
Use OneSearch or Voyager to find books or other items in the UHWO Library and throughout the UH System. See example subject headings below:
Books from the display:
Because the thirty-meter telescope on Mauna Kea is such a controversial issue, you will be able to find a lot of information on the internet, however; be sure to evaluate your resource before citing it by looking at:
- Authorship: Is the author identified? What are the author’s credentials? For example, does the site include the author's position and institutional affiliation? Is the organization the author represent an educational institution (sites ending with .edu) or government agency (sites ending with .gov).
- Accuracy: Can the data be verified from other sources? Does the author have an obvious bias?
- Audience: Is the site intended for scholars or professionals, for lay people, or for students?
- Currency: Does the Web site include the date it was created and/or updated? Are the links current?
- Coverage: Does the site state its intended scope? Is it designed to cover an entire subject, or to give detailed information on one aspect
- Relative Value: How does it compare to other sources of similar information? Are there other more accurate or complete sources - possibly in print format? Does it have a lot of ads and/or pop-up?
ʻŌiwi TV Mauna Kea mini site
The purpose of this page is to provide a curated resource to educate and inform our audience in relation to the current social movement centered around a stand-off on the slopes of Mauna Kea to block the construction of the Thirty Meter Telescope. This resource is a growing and dynamic document built from research and existing online sources.