Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UHWO Research Databases
Access any of the UHWO databases listed below (you will need to log in with your UH username and password to search them):
JSTOR is collection of academic journals in various disciplines. There are multiple collections within JSTOR and UHWO Library subscribes to a total of 1269 titles that should be very helpful with humanities research.
Military and Government Collection (through EBSCOHOST)
Provides full text for nearly 400 military related periodicals.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Full Text
This database is a comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world that offers full text for graduate works since 1997. The appeal of this database is that it can be useful for finding local dissertations and theses on local topics.
These full-text articles come from peer-reviewed journals that may help with your research (UHWO log-in required to access them):
1. "Incarcerating Japanese Americans" by Roger Daniels
This article talks about what was done to Japanese-Americans during World War II and asks the question: "Could it happen again?"
This article focuses on the Japanese-American experience during World War II to discuss the troubling ways that we (as a nation) have created an binary relationship of "Us" verus the "Other."
This is a poem constructed to look like a personal letter written from a man serving in the 100th Infantry Battalion to his friend back home that talks about the war in Europe.
Featured Resource: Densho Encyclopedia
The Densho Encyclopedia is a free and publicly accessible website that provides information on many aspects of the Japanese American story during World War II. This online encyclopedia is vetted by a group of professors and scholars in history and Asian American studies.
A couple of examples of the benefits of using a vetted, subject-specific source like this is that there is scholarly information on topics that might not necessarily be covered in more generalized encyclopedias:
Honouliuli Internment Camp
No No Boys
Access the full free resource here: http://encyclopedia.densho.org/