Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Religious Studies: Hinduism


-Veda: ancient religious texts

-Samsara: process of rebirth (reincarnation)

-Dharma: the web of customs, obligations, traditions, and ideals that govern individual conduct

-Karma: the universal causal law by which good or bad actions determine the future modes of an individual’s existence (source)

-Caste System = Four Social Classes (varna)

  1. Brahmans - priest - possess spiritual authority by birth, religious teachers
  2. Kshatriyas - nobility - protect the people
  3. Vaishyas - commoner - tend cattle
  4. Shudras - servant - serve others

Always Evaluate Your Resources Using the CRAAP Test

Click here to review the CRAAP Test.