LibGuides: Hawaiian & Pacific Resources Online: UH Resources

UHWO Subscription Databases

These databases are only available to UHWO students and faculty.

The subscription-based databases below are good sources for finding scholarly articles about Hawaiʻi and the Greater Pacific. Each database has a different way of searching for articles.

If you need assistance with a specific topic, please see the Librarian at the Reference Desk or click here to use the Chat option on the UHWO Library website.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A large, multi-disciplinary collection of magazine, newspaper, and journal articles from EBSCO.
Ebook Central (formerly ebrary) This link opens in a new window
Ebook Central is a rebranding of Ebrary by ProQuest. Over 120,000 complete books, many from academic university presses.
eHRAF World Culture This link opens in a new window
A cross-cultural database that contains information on all aspects of cultural and social life.
Ethnographic Video Online: Volume III, Indigenous Voices This link opens in a new window
Streaming ethnographic films, documentaries, feature films, and fieldwork regarding human culture, behavior and society, with a strong emphasis on indigenous issues and perspectives and a focus on Oceania, Australia, New Zealand.
Honolulu Star-Advertiser This link opens in a new window
Full-text newspaper articles from June 7, 2010 to present day.
Honolulu Advertiser This link opens in a new window
Full-text newspaper articles from January 1st, 1999 to June 6th, 2010.
Honolulu Star-Bulletin This link opens in a new window
Full-text newspaper articles from Mar 18th, 1996 to Jun 6th, 2010
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A collection of academic journals with a strong focus in the humanities.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to the full-text of over 200 scholarly journals in arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics.

UH System Sites

These sites are affliated with or maintained by the University of Hawaiʻi but do not require a UH login and can be accessed by anyone.

While there are many uses for different websites, click on the more button for some recommended topics.

AVAKonohiki This link opens in a new window
This website focuses on land documents from the Hawaiian Kingdom era, primarily from the 1840ʻs and 1850ʻs. These land records include detailed descriptions of land management practices and Land Commission Awards.
USES: Land, genealogy
Center for Oral History This link opens in a new window
The Center for Oral History at UH Mānoa preserves the memories of Hawaiʻi's people through oral history. You can search the interview transcripts by clicking on the "Database" link.
USES: Land, historical events
Digital Collections of UHM Library This link opens in a new window
The UHM Library Digital Collection features a number of Hawaiian and Pacific digital collections. These collections include photographs, maps, mele, and more.
USES: Land, historical events, maps, mele, photographs
Hawaiian Journal of History This link opens in a new window
Although the Hawaiian Journal of History is published by the Hawaiian Historical Society, the University of Hawai'i handles the digitization. Available issues range from 1967 to present. This journal features articles on historical events in Hawaiian history.
USES: Historical events, land, mele

Hawaiian Legends Index
Use this index to find legends by subject, name, or location.
more...less...
USES: Legends, land, akua

Ka Huli Ao Digital Archives [Punawaiola] This link opens in a new window
Ka Huli Ao Digital Archives is run by Ka Huli Ao Center for Excellence in Native Hawaiian Law at the William S. Richardson School of Law. This digital archive contains legal documents from the Hawaiian Kingdom era to the Territory of Hawaiʻi.
USES: Land, legal issues
The Contemporary Pacific This link opens in a new window
The Contemporary Pacific is a journal that covers a wide range of disciplines with the aim of providing comprehensive coverage of contemporary developments in the entire Pacific Islands region, including Melanesia, Micronesia, and Polynesia. USES: Book and media reviews, contemporary issues, current events, historical events, literature and poetry

UHM ScholarSpace
This open-access, digital repository is for works created at the University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa. Find dissertations, journal articles, and more on ScholarSpace!

Hawaiian & Pacific Resources Online: UH Resources

UHWO Subscription Databases

UH System Sites

Quick Links

James & Abigail

Campbell Library