Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Evaluating Information on the Internet
Evaluation Criteria for Internet Resources
Information on the Internet exists in large quantities, and continuously grows and changes at an alarming rate. Website types (e.g., facts, instructions, opinions, stories, statistics) and purposes (to inform, to teach, to persuade, to sell) are overwhelmingly numerous, and quality and reliability also exist at a variety of levels. It ranges from the very bad to the very good, as well as every shade in between. Here are a few suggestions on how to evaluate Internet content:
- Currency: Does the Web site include the date it was created and/or updated? Are the links current?
- Relevance: How does it compare to other sources of similar information? Are there other more accurate or complete sources - possibly in print format? Does it have a lot of ads and/or pop-ups?
- Authorship: Is the author identified? What are the author’s credentials? For example, does the site include the author's position and institutional affiliation? Is the organization the author represent an educational institution (sites ending with .edu) or government agency (sites ending with .gov).
- Accuracy: Can the data be verified from other sources? Does the author have an obvious bias?
- Purpose: Is the purpose of the resource readily identifiable? Why was this resource created? Is the site intended for scholars or professionals, for lay people, or for students?
Useful Internet Resources
Occupational Outlook Handbook
An online publication by the United States Department of Labor's Bureau of Labor Statistics, this resource provides caereer information on hundreds of jobs available in the U.S. Each career profile includes sections such as: What They Do, How To Become One, Work Environment and much more.
Hawaii State Databook
Published online by the Hawaii State Department of Business, Economic Development & Tourism. The official summary of statistics on the social, economic, and political organization of the State of Hawaii.
Purdue University's Online Writing Lab (OWL)
Nationally known and respected, Purdue University's Online Writing Lab provides in-depth information on how to cite and formate papers according to various writing stlyle guides (MLA, APA, Chicago, Turabian, etc.)
Medicine Hat College MLA Style Guide
Medicine Hat College, located in Canada, provides a citation guide for MLA.
‘Ulu‘ulu: The Henry Ku‘ualoha Giugni Moving Image Archive of Hawai‘i
‘Ulu‘ulu: The Henry Ku‘ualoha Giugni Moving Image Archive of Hawai‘i aims to perpetuate and share the rich moving image heritage of Hawai‘i through the preservation of film and videotape related to the history and culture of Native Hawaiians and the people of Hawai‘i.
Hawaii Pacific Journal Index
Provides citations to articles published in local magazine and journal publications.