Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This section provides general information about finding information about Hawaiian and Pacific mythology. For more resources on Hawaiian or Pacific mythology, click the respective tabs above.
Reference Sources @ UHWO Library
Reference books are meant to provide an overview of whatever topic you are researching. They can be found on the second floor of the library and cannot be checked out.
The databases listed below are able to provide access to books, manuscripts, peer-reviewed articles, theses, or dissertations about mythology in the Pacific.
Academic Search Complete
A large, multi-disciplinary collection of magazine, newspaper, and journal articles from EBSCO.
eHRAF World Culture
A cross-cultural database that contains information on all aspects of cultural and social life.
A collection of academic journals with a strong focus in the humanities.
Provides online access to the full-text of over 200 scholarly journals in arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics.
Open Access Resources
These resources are free to use by anyone and do not require a login.
The Contemporary Pacific
Browse or search through past issues of The Contemporary Pacific. The most recent issue of this journal can be found through Project MUSE.