Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Senator Daniel K. Inouye Collection @ the UHWO Library: Collection Policy and Guidelines

Information about Senator Daniel K. Inouye and his book collection located at the UH West O'ahu Library.

Collection Policy

The Senator Daniel K. Inouye Collection is open to the public, however; materials must be requested and used at the Reference Desk, located on the first floor of the library. Prior to requesting items, the patron must sign an agreement that outlines proper handling and the reproduction policy.

User Agreement

Save yourself some time! Print and sign the User Agreement before you come. When you arrive at the library, turn the form in to the librarian on duty to start requesting items. Please click on the document below to start downloading.

If you have questions regarding this agreement, please contact us by e-mail (uhwolib@hawaii.edu) or phone (808-689-2700). Mahalo!

Guidelines

Handling
These guidelines were developed to preserve and protect the collection while continuing to provide access to the materials.

  • The books in this collection are to be used at the Reference Desk on the first floor of the library. These materials may not circulate or leave the designated area.
  • Eating and drinking are not allowed while using items in this collection. Covered drinks should be kept away from material.
  • Multiple items may be requested but only one item can be used at a time.
  • Use pencil to take notes. No pens, markers, or highlighters are allowed around materials.
  • Do not fold or mark pages in a book. Use a sheet of paper to save your place.
  • Fragile books should be handled with care. In special cases, photocopies of the material may be supplied in lieu of originals.
  • Loose items are to be kept with the book.

Reproductions
It is possible to make reproductions to the extent permitted by the United States copyright laws and when copies can be made without damaging the originals. We highly encourage researchers to use their digital cameras without flash to make duplicates. The University of Hawaiʻi West Oʻahu does not assume any legal responsibility for any infringement of literary, copyright or publication rights belonging to the author, heirs or assigns. Library staff also reserve the right to deny a copy request if the material is too fragile.

If you have questions or feedback about the above policies, please feel free to contact us via email (uhwolib@hawaii.edu) or by phone (808-689-2700).