Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find Books and E-books
Lēʻahi image from Aloha Hawaii Scrapbook Collection.
Oʻahu is fondly known as ka 'ōnohi o nā kai or the gem of the seas. The island is comprised of six large districts - Koʻolauloa, Koʻolaupoko, Kona, ʻEwa, Waiʻanae, and Waialua. If you're looking for material on Oʻahu in Voyager, try doing a subject search for the island name or the particular district you are looking for with Hawaii in parenthesis.
Here are some examples:
Remember, if you find a book in Voyager that is not available at the UHWO Library, you can request it via our Intra-system Loan program. Please keep in mind that books take about 7-10 business days to arrive here and all Hawai'i-Pacific requests for the Mānoa campus are reviewed on an individual basis.
Books from the display
The titles listed below are the books that were displayed in the library. This list is NOT a comprehensive list of resources about the topic. Unless otherwise specified, the books can be found in the Hawaiʻi-Pacific Collection at the UHWO Library.
In general, article databases rarely supply research on specific locations in Hawaiʻi unless you are looking for something specific, like why we had so much rain in 2006 or a comparison of intertidal species richness and composition between Central California and Oʻahu. To increase the chances of finding something related to an area of Hawaiʻi is to check out journals that are published in Hawaiʻi. Many of these journals are available in full-text for free access. See links below or roll the dice and chance a subscription database.
Open-access Journals available online (click on the title to open)
*Access limited to UHWO students, faculty and staff.
Waiʻanae beach and Mākaha Valley image from Hawaiian Photo Album digital collection.
- Ava Konohiki
Access to Hawaiʻi land documents from the 1840's and 1850's, including LCAs, the Buke Mahele, and testimonies.
- Kīpuka Database
OHA’s Kīpuka Database is a geographical information system (GIS) that utilizes the latest mapping technologies to provide a window into native Hawaiian land, culture and history. Kīpuka links historic data sets to geographic locations reinforcing the concept of information embedded in the ‘āina (land), encoded in the wahi inoa (place name).
- Nā Pukepuke Wehewehe ʻŌlelo Hawaiʻi
Select "Nā Puke Wehewehe A Pau" or "All Dictionaries" to include Place Names of Hawaiʻi and Hawaiʻi Place Names in your search.
- Nupepa Hawaii
Blog that provides summaries of stories and articles found in the Hawaiian language newspapers.
- Papakilo Database
The Office of Hawaiian Affairs’ (OHA’s) Papakilo Database, is the ongoing development of a cutting edge and comprehensive “Database of Databases” consisting of varied collections of data pertaining to historically and culturally significant places, events, and documents in Hawai'i’s history.