These are resources found in the CLEAR archives related to labor history on Hawaiʻi Island.
| Source, Physical Location | Subject | Title | Date | Description | Item Number |
| ILWU I Sugar Cabinet 32, Drawer 3 | Payroll 1867ff Honokaa | Basic Rate of unskilled Labor at Honokaa Sugar Company Beginning in the year 1876 | 1876 | j | |
| ILWU I Sugar Cabinet 32, Drawer 3 | Payroll 1867ff Honokaa | Monthly ledger of costs paid for settlements to laborers, Chinese, planters, white labor, Portuguese, Japanese, etc. | 1879-1883 | b | |
| ILWU I Sugar Cabinet 32, Drawer 3 | Payroll 1867ff Honokaa | Honokaa Sugar Company Average Daily Pay of Unskilled Laborers 1879-1888 | 1879-1888 | k | |
| ILWU I Sugar Cabinet 32, Drawer 3 | Payroll 1867ff Honokaa | Notes on Basic Rate of Unskilled labor at HSC 1876-1928 | 1876-1928 | i | |
| ILWU I Sugar Cabinet 32, Drawer 3 | Payroll 1867ff Honokaa | Wage Summary Honokaa. Basic Pay Scales and remarks of who were being paid that amount. | 1879-1928 | g | |
| ILWU I Sugar Cabinet 32, Drawer 3 | Payroll 1867ff Honokaa | Pacific Sugar Mill Total of Payrolls | 1885-1906 | h | |
| ILWU I Sugar Cabinet 32, Drawer 3 | Payroll 1867ff Honokaa | Honokaa Sugar Company Total of Payrolls by month | 1888-1906 | d | |
| ILWU Longshore, File Cabinet 33, Drawer 1 | Hilo Longshore Corres C. Brewer 1942-1948 | Correspondence between Bert H. Nakano and Harold Loper regarding arrangement with C. Brewer and Co. for meeting regarding old agreement and bargaining unit,such as wage increases, inclusion of new penalty cargoes, adjustment on penalty rates, adjustement of hiring practices, union security. Correspndence between Harry Kamoku and Jack E. Conley regarding ILWU meeting regarding Hilo Transportaion and Terminal Company longshore, sugar warehouse, and clerk department. Handwritten journal entries from 11/12/1898 to 1/24/1920 regarding Japanese laborer strikes, lotteries, Japanese Labor Federation, strike breakers, different ethnic workers, and strikes. | 1898-1945 | 3 | |
| Plantation and Hawaii Labor History, File Cabinet 40, Drawer 4 | Laupahoehoe Sugar 1907 | Correspondence on Theo H. Davis & Co. Ltd. letter head regarding immigrants per "SUVERIC" and Spanish workers on plantations. | 1907 | b | |
| Plantation and Hawaii Labor History, File Cabinet 40, Drawer 4 | Laupahoehoe Sugar 1907 | Correspondence between Messengers of C. Brewer and Co. Ltd and Hawaiian Agricultural Company regarding famiiles of Spaniards taking passage for Honolulu | 2/12/1914 | d | |
| John Reinecke Files I, Archives Room, Bank 6, File Cabinet 41, Drawer 1 | Carl Damaso speeches, Hamakua 1937 | Filipino Meeting Paʻauilo by first speaker Nicolas Cabe | 11/20/1937 | Seech explaining about Luviminda union, what a union is and unions don't tell people to strike, but to fight for rights as workers. | 4c |
| John Reinecke Files I, Archives Room, Bank 6, File Cabinet 41, Drawer 1 | Carl Damaso speeches, Hamakua 1937 | Report on Bivora Luvidminda (sp. Vibora Luzviminda) Mass Meetings Schedule for Honolulu, Waiakea, Waiakea Uka and Hakalau. Signed by Calixto Damaso, Francisco Carbonel, Nicolas C. Cabe | 12/6/1937 | List of schools and locations where speeches from the Bivora Luviminda took place (honomu, Waiakea, Waiakea Uka, Kohala, Hawi, Hakalau, Olaa, Pahoa, Kapoho, Papaaloa, Ookala, Paauilo, Honokaa, Kukuihaele, Pahala, Naalehu. | 4b |
| John Reinecke Files I, Archives Room, Bank 6, File Cabinet 41, Drawer 1 | Carl Damaso speeches, Hamakua 1937 | Speeches made by members of Bivora Liviminda (sp. Vibora Luzviminda) Labor Union at Kohala Sugar Company Mill Camp on Thursday 12/9/1937 starting at 5:15pm. | 12/9/1937 | Speakers: Nicolas Cabe, Juam Manipon, Mariano Cadiamot, Francisco Carbonel, Calixto Damaso. Discussing strike on Puunene and trying to get leaders on Big Island to strike too. | 4f |
| John Reinecke Files I, Archives Room, Bank 6, File Cabinet 41, Drawer 1 | Carl Damaso speeches, Hamakua 1937 | Speeches made by members of Bivora Luviminda (sp. Vibora Luzviminda) Labor Union at Pahoa Puna, 12/14/1937 at 5:50pm | 12/12/1937 | Speakers: Nicolas Cabe, Calixto Damaso, Tio Duldolao, Calixto Damaso, Francisco Carbonel, | 4h |
| John Reinecke Files I, Archives Room, Bank 6, File Cabinet 41, Drawer 1 | Carl Damaso speeches, Hamakua 1937 | Speeches made by members of Bivora Luviminda (sp. Vibora Luzviminda) Labor Union at Kapoho, Puna | 12/15/1937 | Speakers: Francisco Carbonel, Calixto Damaso, Tio Duldolao, | 4i |
| John Reinecke Files I, Archives Room, Bank 6, File Cabinet 41, Drawer 1 | Carl Damaso speeches, Hamakua 1937 | Speeches made by members of Bivora Luviminda (sp. Vibora Luzviminda) Labor Union at Paauilo | 12/18/1937 | Speakers: Francisco Carobel, Anastacio Ramos, Francisco Carbonel, Augustine Basilio, Francisco Taac, | 4j |
| John Reinecke Files I, Archives Room, Bank 6, File Cabinet 41, Drawer 1 | Carl Damaso speeches, Hamakua 1937 | Speeches made by members of Bivora Luviminda (sp. Vibora Luzviminda) Labor Union at Pahala | 12/22/1937 | Speakers: Calixto Damaso, Francisco Carbonel, | 4k |
| John Reinecke Files I, Archives Room, Bank 6, File Cabinet 41, Drawer 1 | Carl Damaso speeches, Hamakua 1937 | Speeches made by members of Bivora Luviminda (sp. Vibora Luzviminda) Labor Union at Kau | 12/23/1937 | Speakers: Francsico Carbonel, Marmemino Dagdagan, Bonifcaio Obillano, Felipe Villanueva, Calixto Damaso, Francisco Carbonal, Dicoy, | 4l |
| John Reinecke Files I, Archives Room, Bank 6, File Cabinet 41, Drawer 1 | Carl Damaso speeches, Hamakua 1937 | Dakami nga agfirma: Petition re Mr. Peregrino Reyla and Campo Boss Hamakua Sugar Mill Co. | 1937 | Petition with signatures of workers. | 4p |
| John Reinecke Files I, Archives Room, Bank 6, File Cabinet 41, Drawer 1 | Carl Damaso speeches, Hamakua 1937 | English translation of Dakami nga agfirma: Petition re: Mr. Peregrino Reyla | 1937 | English tanslation | 4p-1 |
| John Reinecke Files I, Archives Room, Bank 6, File Cabinet 41, Drawer 1 | Carl Damaso speeches, Hamakua 1937 | Correspondence regarding resolution for individual rights to labor problems regarding removal of Mr. P. Reyla as Camp Boss, and response of the manager regarding "Filipino agitators," and other workers who support Mr. Reyla | 1937 | 4r | |
| John Reinecke Files I, Archives Room, Bank 6, File Cabinet 41, Drawer 1 | Carl Damaso speeches, Hamakua 1937 | Correspondence regarding report sent to Mr. Wells and Hamakua Mill company list of names with Bango tag numbers. | 1938 | ||
| John Reinecke Files I, Archives Room, Bank 6, File Cabinet 41, Drawer 1 | Carl Damaso speeches, Hamakua 1937 | Speeches made by member of Bivora Luviminda Labor Union at Paauilo | 1/3/1938 | Speakers: Bacilio Agustin, Mariano, Francisco Carobnel, Anastacio Taa | 4m |
| John Reinecke Files I, Archives Room, Bank 6, File Cabinet 41, Drawer 1 | Carl Damaso speeches, Hamakua 1937 | Correspondence from M.L. Carlsmith to Major General B.H. Wells Hawaiian Sugar Planters' Association, Alexander & Baldwin regarding Paauilo march due to 6 men being discharged from Paauilo. | 1/4/1938 | 4q | |
| Archives Room, Bank 6 File Cabinet 37, Drawer 1 | 1938 HILO MASSACRE | Hilo Massacre Research | 1938 | ||
| Archives Room, Bank 6 File Cabinet 37, Drawer 1 | 1938 HILO MASSACRE | News Paper Reports | 1938 | ||
| Archives Room, Bank 6 File Cabinet 37, Drawer 1 | 1938 HILO MASSACRE | Rifles & Weapons | 1938 | ||
| Archives Room, Bank 6 File Cabinet 37, Drawer 1 | 1938 HILO MASSACRE | Reinecke, John (HEA Reports) | 1938 | ||
| Archives Room, Bank 6 File Cabinet 37, Drawer 1 | 1938 HILO MASSACRE | Grand Jury | 1938 | ||
| Archives Room, Bank 6 File Cabinet 37, Drawer 1 | 1938 HILO MASSACRE | Interview with Bill Puette Cassette #23 & #24-Part 142 | 1938 | ||
| Archives Room, Bank 6 File Cabinet 37, Drawer 1 | 1938 HILO MASSACRE | Interview with Napolean Kanve "Hilo Massacre" | 1938 | ||
| Archives Room, Bank 6 File Cabinet 37, Drawer 1 | 1938 HILO MASSACRE | National Archives | 1938 | ||
| Archives Room, Bank 6 File Cabinet 37, Drawer 1 | 1938 HILO MASSACRE | Interview W/ Mr. Aono Tape #6 | 1938 | ||
| Archives Room, Bank 6 File Cabinet 37, Drawer 1 | 1938 HILO MASSACRE | Interview w/ Ah Quon McElrath Tape #14 | 1938 | ||
| Archives Room, Bank 6 File Cabinet 37, Drawer 1 | 1938 HILO MASSACRE | Demonstrations Notes | 1938 | ||
| Archives Room, Bank 6 File Cabinet 37, Drawer 1 | 1938 HILO MASSACRE | Interview with Joe Kahee and William Calles-Tape #15 & #16 | 1938 | ||
| Archives Room, Bank 6 File Cabinet 37, Drawer 1 | 1938 HILO MASSACRE | Interview with Bert Nakano & Matsutaro Jichaku-Tapes #17 & #18 | 1938 | ||
| Archives Room, Bank 6 File Cabinet 37, Drawer 1 | 1938 HILO MASSACRE | Interview with Joe Kahee Tape #6 & #7 | 1938 | ||
| Archives Room, Bank 6 File Cabinet 37, Drawer 1 | 1938 HILO MASSACRE | Saigen Report (1937) | 1938 | ||
| Archives Room, Bank 6 File Cabinet 37, Drawer 1 | 1938 HILO MASSACRE | Hilo Massacre 1938 Attorney General Report | 1938 | ||
| Archives Room, Bank 6 File Cabinet 37, Drawer 1 | 1938 HILO MASSACRE | Hilo Longshore Organizing 1935-1938 | 1938 | ||
| Archives Room, Bank 6 File Cabinet 37, Drawer 1 | 1938 HILO MASSACRE | Misc. ILWU (files) | 1938 | ||
| Archives Room, Bank 6 File Cabinet 37, Drawer 1 | 1938 HILO MASSACRE | Hodgson, J. (Report) Unofficial Copy | 1938 | ||
| Archives Room, Bank 6 File Cabinet 37, Drawer 1 | 1938 HILO MASSACRE | Hodgson,J. (Offical Transcript) | 1938 | ||
| Archives Room, Bank 6 File Cabinet 37, Drawer 1 | 1938 HILO MASSACRE | Felipe (paper 1910) 1938- 1-1 Shipping Strike | 1938 | ||
| Archives Room, Bank 6 File Cabinet 37, Drawer 1 | 1938 HILO MASSACRE | "Massacre"-Definition | 1938 | ||
| Archives Room, Bank 6 File Cabinet 37, Drawer 1 | 1938 HILO MASSACRE | Archives-File | 1938 | ||
| Archives Room, Bank 6 File Cabinet 37, Drawer 1 | 1938 HILO MASSACRE | Interview with Joe Rocha Tape #9 
 -Part I & II | 1938 | ||
| Archives Room, Bank 6 File Cabinet 37, Drawer 1 | 1938 HILO MASSACRE | Interview with Bert Nakano "Hilo Massacre" Tapes #1& #2 | 1938 | ||
| Archives Room, Bank 6 File Cabinet 37, Drawer 1 | 1938 HILO MASSACRE | Nakano, Bert | 1938 | ||
| Archives Room, Bank 6 File Cabinet 37, Drawer 1 | 1938 HILO MASSACRE | Harry Kamoku (Kage Yamt Family File) | 1938 | ||
| Archives Room, Bank 6 File Cabinet 37, Drawer 1 | 1938 HILO MASSACRE | Joe Rocha | 1938 | ||
| Archives Room, Bank 6 File Cabinet 37, Drawer 1 | 1938 HILO MASSACRE | Kahee, Joe (Hookano) | 1938 | ||
| Archives Room, Bank 6 File Cabinet 37, Drawer 1 | 1938 HILO MASSACRE | Kamahele, Anna | 1938 | ||
| Archives Room, Bank 6 File Cabinet 37, Drawer 1 | 1938 HILO MASSACRE | Uratani, Kai (Statement) | 1938 | ||
| Archives Room, Bank 6 File Cabinet 37, Drawer 1 | 1938 HILO MASSACRE | Interview with Robert Napeahi | 1938 | ||
| Archives Room, Bank 6 File Cabinet 37, Drawer 1 | 1938 HILO MASSACRE | Napeahi, Robert | 1938 | ||
| Archives Room, Bank 6 File Cabinet 37, Drawer 1 | 1938 HILO MASSACRE | Tallet, Paul | 1938 | ||
| Archives Room, Bank 6 File Cabinet 37, Drawer 1 | 1938 HILO MASSACRE | Hagino, Saburo | 1938 | ||
| Archives Room, Bank 6 File Cabinet 37, Drawer 1 | 1938 HILO MASSACRE | Uratani, Kai | 1938 | ||
| Archives Room, Bank 6 File Cabinet 37, Drawer 1 | 1938 HILO MASSACRE | Mattoon, James | 1938 | ||
| Archives Room, Bank 6 File Cabinet 37, Drawer 1 | 1938 HILO MASSACRE | Theresa, Himauku | 1938 | ||
| Archives Room, Bank 6 File Cabinet 37, Drawer 1 | 1938 HILO MASSACRE | Gov. Burns & LM Dispurte in Hawaii | 1938 | ||
| Archives Room, Bank 6 File Cabinet 37, Drawer 1 | 1938 HILO MASSACRE | Dr. Leslie Weight (on-lookers) | 1938 | ||
| Archives Room, Bank 6 File Cabinet 37, Drawer 1 | 1938 HILO MASSACRE | Warren, Charles | 1938 | ||
| Archives Room, Bank 6 File Cabinet 37, Drawer 1 | 1938 HILO MASSACRE | Sheriff Martin | 1938 | ||
| Archives Room, Bank 6 File Cabinet 37, Drawer 1 | 1938 HILO MASSACRE | Kupakaa, David (Red) | 1938 | ||
| Archives Room, Bank 6 File Cabinet 37, Drawer 1 | 1938 HILO MASSACRE | Kahili, Johnson [Firechief] | 1938 | ||
| Archives Room, Bank 6 File Cabinet 37, Drawer 1 | 1938 HILO MASSACRE | August Hasselgren | 1938 | ||
| Archives Room, Bank 6 File Cabinet 37, Drawer 1 | 1938 HILO MASSACRE | Ke Liihoomalu, Moody (Police) | 1938 | ||
| Archives Room, Bank 6 File Cabinet 37, Drawer 1 | 1938 HILO MASSACRE | Richardson, Geo (Detective) | 1938 | ||
| Archives Room, Bank 6 File Cabinet 37, Drawer 1 | 1938 HILO MASSACRE | Captain Herbert T. Martin -I-I | 1938 | ||
| Archives Room, Bank 6 File Cabinet 37, Drawer 1 | 1938 HILO MASSACRE | Joseph Hodgson | 1938 | ||
| Archives Room, Bank 6 File Cabinet 37, Drawer 1 | 1938 HILO MASSACRE | Photo Captions- Hilo Massacre | 1938 | ||
| Archives Room, Bank 6 File Cabinet 37, Drawer 1 | 1938 HILO MASSACRE | Voice of Labor | 1938 | ||
| Archives Room, Bank 6 File Cabinet 37, Drawer 1 | 1938 HILO MASSACRE | Hughes, HS -The Historian and Social Scientist AHR Oct 1960 | 1938 | ||
| Archives Room, Bank 6 File Cabinet 37, Drawer 1 | 1938 HILO MASSACRE | Maps | 1938 | ||
| John Reinecke Files I, Archives Room, Bank 6, File Cabinet 41, Drawer 1 | Carl Damaso speeches, Hamakua 1937 | Racial Camp Olokele Sugar, Makaweli, Kauai | 9/14/1945 | Provides statistics of Japanese, Fiipino, Portuguese, Hawaiian, Spanish, Chinese, Chinese-Hawaiian, Maunawaili Filipinos | 4m |
| 1946 Sugar Strike I, File Cabinet 40, Drawer 3 | Sugar Workers, Hilo, Hawaii | Correspondence between Sugar workers Union and Mr. Rubin Ortiz Central Labor Council of Honolulu regarding lock out due to ILWU-CIO strike. | 1946 | a | |
| 1946 Sugar Strike I, File Cabinet 40, Drawer 3 | Sugar Workers, Hilo, Hawaii | Statement at the Hearing of the Appeal of the Waiakea Mill Company from the Determination of the Unemployment Compensation Board in Favor of Granting Unemployment Compensation Benefits to Waiakea Mill Employees | 1946 | b | |
| ILWU I Sugar Cabinet 32, Drawer 3 | Wages Honokaa | Kohala Sugar Company Time and Payroll Records at Hawi Mill Plantation, Homestead and Puakea Plantation, Union Mill, Niulii Mill, Kohala | 7/22/1947 | 7c | |
| ILWU II Longshore, File Cabinet 33, Drawer 2 | Olaa Sugar Co. Statement 1948 | Olaa Sugar Company, Limited Opening Statement regarding reasons for wage and salary cut and responses to union's questions. | 1948 | ||
| ILWU II Longshore, File Cabinet 33, Drawer 2 | Excerpts from Transcript of Negotiations between Goldblatt and Williams (Tuesday to Thursday) regarding negotiation meetings with Olaa Sugar Company | 1948 | 21b | ||
| ILWU Longshore, File Cabinet 33, Drawer 1 | Longshore Unit, Hilo, Unit 14 | Correspondence between Harry Kamoku and Jack Kawano regarding cement issue in Kahului and request helping from Honoluu and Hilo brothers to help suspended brothers | 7/13/1948 | 11b | |
| ILWU II Longshore, File Cabinet 33, Drawer 2 | United Sugar Workers ILWU Local 142 Report on Negotiations at Olaa | 8/26/1948 | 21c | ||
| ILWU Longshore, File Cabinet 33, Drawer 1 | Longshore Unit, Hilo, Unit 14 | News clippings regarding harbor, shipping, Teamster, ILWU union. "136 Marches Onward" essay regarding Hilo Longshoremen's AssociationCharter with the International Longshoremen's Association AFL with Harry Kamoku as President. The history of striking, and sending delegations to California. | 7/30/1952 | 11a | |
| Plantation and Hawaii Labor History, File Cabinet 40, Drawer 3 | Olaa 10th Anniverary 1954 | Xerox copy of program booklet: ILWU 10th Anniversary May 1944-May 1954 booklet. Congratulations, Founding Officers of OLAA ILWU Local 142 Unit 3, Organizing Committees, Local 148, highlights of the year, ILWU advocacy for every classification of employment in the industry to be considered non-agricultural coverage by the Wagner Act., leading to Little Wagner Act enacted by the Territorial Legislature. ILWU Winning of Territory wide strike where 33 plantations remained shut-down and gains in wages. Historical chronology of issues and gains of the ILWU labor organizing. | 1954 | a | |
| ILWU Longshore, File Cabinet 33, Drawer 1 | Longshore Unit, Hilo, Unit 14 | Notes on ILWU Longshore Unit regarding organization of Hilo Unit, Honolulu Record, Mr. Harry Kamoku (Alice Takuchi), Harry Kamoku background, union information as a seamen in San Francisco and Seattle, blacklisted, benefits of organization, importance of women and organizing wives, integrated meetings, formation of federations with mainland to achieve unity in action and labor temples around the island for visibility. | 4/28/1965 | 11c | |
| ILWU Longshore, File Cabinet 33, Drawer 1 | Longshore Unit, Hilo, Unit 14 | Interview with Fred Low. Jr. Discusses 1935-1949 history of wage differentiation, how longshore unions function in relation to various trades and workers, bango system, control of voting, race, Harry Kamokuʻs objectives, organizaiton of workers and of plantations, police, judges | 11/21/1965 | 11d | |
| ILWU I Sugar Cabinet 32, Drawer 3 | David Thompson ILWU Education Director Big Island Organizing | Essay "Interview with David E. Thompson" 7/20/1966 | 7/20/1966 | 32a | |
| ILWU II Longshore, File Cabinet 33, Drawer 2 | Charles J. Meske, ILWU, 1948, Hamakua Coast Organizing | "History of the United Public Workers Union in Hawaii: The Reminiscences of Chester J. Meske," In New York Times Oral History Program: University of Hawaii Pacific Regional Oral History, No. 14. Regarding organizing in the Hamakua coast and building unity across different ethnic groups. | 1975 | a | |
| Plantation and Hawaii Labor History, File Cabinet 40, Drawer 4 | Laupahoehoe Sugar 1907 | The Filipino in the Labor Movement of Hawaii: The ILWU Experience by Edward D. Beechert | 1980 | c | |
| ILWU II Longshore, File Cabinet 33, Drawer 2 | A Study of Displaced Sugar workers focuses on Puna Sugar Co. Ltd. by State of Hawaii Department of Labor and Industrial Relations. Discussion of unemployment as a result of decreasing sugar plantation and declining tourism jobs. Also needs of displaced workers such as training on managing money, meal planning, shopping skills, food stamps, some relocating and others staying in the home. Discussion out occupational outloo, to Professiona, Technical workers, Managers, Officials, Sales, Clerical workers, craft workers, operatives, service workers, laborers, | 1982 | 17 | ||
| IWLU IV, File Cabinet 34, Drawer 1 | Big Island | Hawaii Investor "Is the Fire Out at the Volcano House?" article regarding Big Island's Volcano House complaints | 1991 | ||
| ILWU II Longshore, File Cabinet 33, Drawer 2 | Hamakua ILWU 1992-1993 | Pictures of ILWU Local 142 poster with CLEAR sign on the left; Honokaa Farmers and Cultural Market and people shopping vegetables; parade with truck banner "Visayans of Hamakua," adorned truck with banner "Dedicated to all the former Knapeack workers;" Harley Davidson motorcyclists ride in front of Pioneer Federal; truck in parade with sugar cane and banner "Plantation Days Laupahoehoe Senior Citizens Filipinos Come in the Flume in the late 1936-1948 Memories to Cherish Forever;" Honoka'a People's Theater building; children marching with Paauilo banner; truck with Cayetano banner and people marching behind; truck adornd with ILWU Local 142 hawaii banner;white truck with U.S., Hawaiian flag, and plants with sign "The Good Plantation Days 1969-1994"; trucks carrying mini houses with plants in the front | 1994 | 15a | |
| ILWU II Longshore, File Cabinet 33, Drawer 2 | Hamakua ILWU 1992-1993 | Hawaii without sugar: Hilo-Hamakua Revitalization Effort, March 1995 update. Report regarding revitalizaton effort of the region as a result of closure of sugar companies. Focus on diversified agriculture, employment & training, housing, health care, family and community support, economic develpoment, Hilo-Hamakua High tech, and how to prepare displaced work force and their families for these changes. | 1995 | 15d | |
| ILWU II Longshore, File Cabinet 33, Drawer 2 | Hamakua ILWU 1992-1993 | Hawaii Investor Magazine with cover title "Francis Morgan Hangs Tough: Despite defections and defaults, Hamakua Sugar's boss still believes in his industry" | 1998 | 15e | |
| IWLU IV, File Cabinet 34, Drawer 1 | Big Island | Voice of the ILWU Vol 53, No. 6 Newsletter. Leading article "Hilton Waikoloa Village Members Ratify new Three-Year Contract." | 2013 | ||
| IWLU IV, File Cabinet 34, Drawer 1 | Big Island | Advertiser article "New Union Election at Waikoloa Hotel" | 2/23/1983 | ||
| IWLU IV, File Cabinet 34, Drawer 1 | Big Island | Star Bulletin article "Royal Waikoloa Union Vote Set" | 3/8/1983 | ||
| IWLU IV, File Cabinet 34, Drawer 1 | Big Island | The Honolulu Advertiser "Third Vote Set in Hotel Dispute" | 7/20/1983 | ||
| IWLU IV, File Cabinet 34, Drawer 1 | Big Island | Advertiser article "Volcano House workers suffer labor set back" | 5/11/1991 | ||
| IWLU IV, File Cabinet 34, Drawer 1 | Big Island | Advertiser article "Mauna Kea Hotel cuts staff by 13%: ILWU agrees to defer pay raises at some Neighbor Island resorts" | 7/16/1992 | ||
| IWLU IV, File Cabinet 34, Drawer 1 | Big Island | Star Bulletin article "100 ideled at closing of Mauna Kea resort" and "Hotel workers forgo pay hikes" regarding ILWU Local 142 forgo 1994 pay raises | 7/11/1994 | ||
| IWLU IV, File Cabinet 34, Drawer 1 | Big Island | Advertiser "ILWU, Hapuna hotel OK Pact" | 10/12/1994 | ||
| ILWU II Longshore, File Cabinet 33, Drawer 2 | Hamakua ILWU 1992-1993 | Fax document regarding working with housing coproration for youth programs and newspaper Ho'ala Hou Ke Ola whose editor is the wife of a laid off sugar worker | 10/26/1995 | 15c | |
| IWLU IV, File Cabinet 34, Drawer 1 | Big Island | Star Bulletin article "Mauna Kea Hotel Shut Down: Some 420 workers at the Big Isle Hotel Will be Laid Off in the temporary clsure, expected to last several months to fix earthquake damages" | 12/2/2006 | ||
| IWLU IV, File Cabinet 34, Drawer 1 | Big Island | Honolulu Advertiser "Hotel, Housing Plan Backed by ILWU: But $850 million project faces opposition from Hawai'i County Council" | 8/24/2007 | ||
| IWLU IV, File Cabinet 34, Drawer 1 | Big Island | Honolulu Advertiser "ILWU, Starwood agree on contract" | 5/23/2009 | ||
| Notes on wages by year 1901-1989 | 1901-1989 | L | |||
| ILWU I Sugar Cabinet 32, Drawer 3 | Payroll 1867ff Honokaa | Honokaa Sugar Co. and Pacific Sugar Average Daily Turnout of Laborers | 1906-1915 | a | |
| ILWU I Sugar Cabinet 32, Drawer 3 | Payroll 1867ff Honokaa | Pacific Sugar Mill: Percentage of Laborers Turning Out | 1906-1915 | c | |
| ILWU I Sugar Cabinet 32, Drawer 3 | Payroll 1867ff Honokaa | Pacific Sugar Mill Average Daily Turnout of Laborers by month | 1906-1916 | e | |
| ILWU I Sugar Cabinet 32, Drawer 3 | Payroll 1867ff Honokaa | Honokaa Sugar Company Total of Payroll 1906-1928 | 1906-1928 | f | |
| Plantation and Hawaii Labor History, File Cabinet 40, Drawer 4 | Laupahoehoe Sugar 1907 | Hawaiian Historical Society Agricultural Records Inventory | a | ||
| Plantation and Hawaii Labor History, File Cabinet 40, Drawer 4 | Laupahoehoe Sugar 1907 | Correspondence on Theo H. Davis & Co. Ltd. letter head regarding immigrants per "SUVERIC" and Spanish workers on plantations. | 1907 | b | |
| Plantation and Hawaii Labor History, File Cabinet 40, Drawer 4 | Laupahoehoe Sugar 1907 | The Filipino in the Labor Movement of Hawaii: The ILWU Experience by Edward D. Beechert | 1980 | c | |
| Plantation and Hawaii Labor History, File Cabinet 40, Drawer 4 | Laupahoehoe Sugar 1907 | Correspondence between Messengers of C. Brewer and Co.Ltd and Hawaiian Agricultural Company regarding famiiles of Spaniards taking passage for Honolulu | 2/12/1914 | d | |
| John Reinecke Files I, Archives Room, Bank 6, File Cabinet 41, Drawer 1 | Carl Damaso speeches, Hamakua 1937 | 1920 strike file v. 1 | 1919-1920 | timeline of campaigns to strike on higher wages | 4n |
| ILWU I Sugar Cabinet 32, Drawer 3 | Wages Honokaa | Oversized print of Honokaa sugar company, Pacific Sugar Mill, Honokaa Sugar Company and Pacific Sugar Mill cmobined showing years (1921-1924) of tons of sguar produced per day, areas of crop and cultivation and man days. | 1921-1924 | 7a | |
| ILWU I Sugar Cabinet 32, Drawer 3 | Wages Honokaa | Oversized print of Labor Statistics Honoka'a Sugar Company and Pacific Sugar Mill, regarding years 1921-1924 skilled labor, unskilled labor, all labor, animal labor | 1921-1924 | 7b | |
| ILWU Longshore, File Cabinet 33, Drawer 1 | Hilo Longshore Local 136 1941-1948 | Articles of Agreement Between International Longshoremen's and Warehousemen's Union Local 136 (CIO) and Hilo Transportation and Terminal Company, Ltd. 1947-1948; Correspondence between Harry L. Kamoku and Bert H. Nakano and Bob McElrath regarding issues of Hilo Transportation and Terminal Company Ltd issues of wages, sick plan, hour provision, and clause on employment. Hilo Transportation and Terminal Company Ltd. House Rules. | 1947-1948 | 8 | |
| ILWU I Sugar Cabinet 32, Drawer 3 | 1948-1950 Olaa Unit Executive Board Grievances | 1948 Sugar Contract: Formula, amendments, wages; meetings for members, reports, greivances, communications. Meets at Olaa union hall and casino. Fujisaki Correspondence 1950 regarding liquidation and grievances of various workers and if the union would take it up. | 1948-1950 | 38 | |
| Plantation and Hawaii Labor History, File Cabinet 40, Drawer 3 | Olaa 10th Anniverary 1954 | xerox of program booklet: ILWU 10th Anniversary May 1944-May 1954 booklet. Congratulations, Founding Officers of OLAA ILWU Local 142 Unit 3, Organizing Committees, Local 148, highlights of the year, ILWU advocacy for every classification of employment in the industry to be considered non-agricultural coverage by the Wagner Act., leading to Little Wagner Act enacted by the Territorial Legislature. ILWU Winning of Territory wide strike where 33 plantations remained shut-down and gains in wages. Historical chronology of issues and gains of the ILWU labor organizing. | 1954 | a | |
| ILWU II Longshore, File Cabinet 33, Drawer 2 | Puna/Kohala/Ka'u | News clippings related to macademia workers, farms, agribusiness, Rural Economic Transition Assistance Hawaii program, sugar workers asked to accept wage cuts, layoffs, Pahala life difficulty when C. Brewer and Co. closed down, rental subsidies, union vote response to wage cut proposals, lay offs as Ka'u Sugar closes | 1984-1994 | 16 | |
| ILWU II Longshore, File Cabinet 33, Drawer 2 | Hilo Coast | News clippings related to layoffs in Big Isle strike, truckers on strike, back to work at Hilo Coast Processing Co., Hilo Coast cooperative's sugar mill, machine breakdowns, C. Brewer to cut 230 jobs and 5 plantations, Castle and Cook on Big Island, Union Official Hits Castle and Cook, sugar shut down, Matayoshi, ILWU, HUD helps workers pay rent, workers compensation, Mauna Kea Beach Hotel deal with union, News Release "$299,862 Federal Grant will Help Hilo Sugar Workers" for on-the-job training to help dispalced workers gain new jobs, English basic education, academic training, enterprenuership workshops, stress management, financial planning. Article "The big question: In two years, Big Island sugar will be a memory. What's next is anybody's guess" by Lisa Ishikawa in Hawaii Business Nov. 1994 | 1984-1994 | ||
| IWLU IV, File Cabinet 34, Drawer 1 | Big Island | Newsclippings regarding Big Island hotel worker issues, strikes, walk outs and gains as part of ILWU | 1988-1989 | ||
| ILWU II Longshore, File Cabinet 33, Drawer 2 | Hamakua ILWU 1992-1993 | News clippings related to Hamakua, Paauilo, workers, sugar company, pay, workforce, debt, salary cut, company bankruptcy, downfall of Hamakua Sugar Co. | 1988-1995 | 15b | |
| John Reinecke Files I, Archives Room, Bank 6, File Cabinet 41, Drawer 1 | Carl Damaso speeches, Hamakua 1937 | The Reason for This Pamphlet, signed by the hawaii Island Planters' association | Discusses reasons why working on Hawaii plantations are good for Filipinos and why they should work in the plantations. There are good wages | 4a | |
| John Reinecke Files I, Archives Room, Bank 6, File Cabinet 41, Drawer 1 | Carl Damaso speeches, Hamakua 1937 | Speech by Livorio Vega, introduced by Cabe | Informs people of Paauilo to form a union and to build unity | 4d | |
| John Reinecke Files I, Archives Room, Bank 6, File Cabinet 41, Drawer 1 | Carl Damaso speeches, Hamakua 1937 | Speech by Calixto a Daniaso by Cabe | Informs Paauilo people to organize because the planter are recruiting people from the Philippines, and perhaps Japanese colonization in Mindanao. It is time to unite. | 4e | |
| John Reinecke Files I, Archives Room, Bank 6, File Cabinet 41, Drawer 1 | Carl Damaso speeches, Hamakua 1937 | Speech by Atonacio (Lives at Paauilo) | Leaders from Maui allow to speak , and that he from Paauilo should be leader | ||
| John Reinecke Files I, Archives Room, Bank 6, File Cabinet 41, Drawer 1 | Carl Damaso speeches, Hamakua 1937 | Speech by Calixto A. Daniaso (in answer to atonacio). | Respons to Atonacio that they are not from Maui to break their unity. But people are ready. It is hard to strike and there will be suffering. But people on Maui will join you if you call. People of Paauilo should not be left behind. | ||
| John Reinecke Files I, Archives Room, Bank 6, File Cabinet 41, Drawer 1 | Carl Damaso speeches, Hamakua 1937 | Speech from Bacilia, Satolino, Francsico Garbonel, e | discussing Jose Rizal, the struggle of striking, facing up to managers, but fighting for the rights of people. Speech from Satolino, discussing from Maui, leaders handling cases are hard. People risk being fired by manager. | ||
| John Reinecke Files I, Archives Room, Bank 6, File Cabinet 41, Drawer 1 | Carl Damaso speeches, Hamakua 1937 | Speeches made by members of Bivora Luviminda Labor Union at Hawi, Kohala on Fri 12/10/1937 at 5:45pm | Speakers: Nicolas Cabe, Francsico Carbonel, Calixto Damaso, Mariano Cadiamot, Severino Marcos, Florentino Salazar, Marcelino Inis | 4g | |
| John Reinecke Files I, Archives Room, Bank 6, File Cabinet 41, Drawer 1 | Carl Damaso speeches, Hamakua 1937 | Summary of Two meeting Tours of Bivora Luviminda Labor Leaders | 4o | ||
| Plantation and Hawaii Labor History, File Cabinet 40, Drawer 4 | Laupahoehoe Sugar 1907 | Hawaiian Historical Society Agricultural Records Inventory | a | ||
| ILWU II Longshore, File Cabinet 33, Drawer 2 | Olaa 1948 Transcripts of Negotiations | Olaa Sugar Company, Limited. Proposals to the Union | Discusses contract with Sugar and Processing Workers, ILWU (CIO) Local 148, Units 1,2,3, 4. Includes wage schedule according to numbered labor grades | 21a | |
| ILWU I Sugar Cabinet 32, Drawer 3 | Central Labor Council Report Rutledge, Hilo, Hawaii | Report by Arthur A. Rutledge to the Members of the Honolulu Central Labor Council on his recent trip to Hilo in Conjunction with the Big Island Labor Council | |||
| ILWU I Sugar Cabinet 32, Drawer 3 | 10th Anniv Olaa | original copy of ILWU 10th Anniversary May 1944-May 1954 booklet. Congratulations, Founding Officers of OLAA ILWU Local 142 Unit 3, Organizing Committees, Local 148, highlights of the year, ILWU advocacy for every classification of employment in the industry to be considered non-agricultural coverage by the Wagner Act., leading to Little Wagner Act enacted by the Territorial Legislature. ILWU Winning of Territory wide strike where 33 plantations remained shut-down and gains in wages. Historical chronology of issues and gains of the ILWU labor organizing. | |||
| ILWU I Sugar Cabinet 32, Drawer 3 | Wages Honokaa | Oversized print of Honokaa sugar company, Pacific Sugar Mill, Honokaa Sugar Company and Pacific Sugar Mill cmobined showing years (1921-1924) of tons of sguar produced per day, areas of crop and cultivation and man days, and amendments from previous copy. | 72 |
An
equal opportunity/affirmative action institution.
Use of this site implies consent with our
Usage Policy.
