| Archives Room, Bank 6 File Cabinet 42, Drawer 3 | ED BEECHERT FILES III | 1944 Annual Committee Reports: The Hawaii Education Association | 1 | 1944 | |
| Archives Room, Bank 6 File Cabinet 42, Drawer 3 | ED BEECHERT FILES III | I.W.W. Waialua 1913 | 2 | 1913 | Black and white photo in envelope "IWW Waialua" with men wearing hats holding signs "The Cause of ONe is the Cause of All," "Liberty, Equality, Justice," "Are We United?" "Boiler Makers." Bureau of Labor Statistics Circular Letter to Plantations regarding Grove Plantation and organizers of the IWW. "IWW Meeeting July 2, 1913 at Portuguese Camp, Waialua, with speaker A.V. Roe. |
| Archives Room, Bank 6 File Cabinet 42, Drawer 3 | ED BEECHERT FILES III | International Longshoremen's and Warehousemen's Union CIO Conference | 3 | 1945 | Correspondence and conference proceeding; sepia group photo of men by de Boer portrait. |
| Archives Room, Bank 6 File Cabinet 42, Drawer 3 | ED BEECHERT FILES III | A New Game Plan for Union Organizing | 4 | 2003 | Reports by the Labor Educator including "Negotiating a First Contract," "Reaching the Unorganized," "How to Reverse Labor's Losing Streak" by Harry Kelber |
| Archives Room, Bank 6 File Cabinet 42, Drawer 3 | ED BEECHERT FILES III | Public Employment History of Unions | 5 | 1830-1966 | Timeline by Labor-Management Education Program, University of Hawaii |
| Archives Room, Bank 6 File Cabinet 42, Drawer 3 | ED BEECHERT FILES III | AFL in Hawaii | 6 | Discusses how CIO and later ILWU stimulated the AFL in Hawaii and new locals since the pre-annexation period in Hawaii | |
| Archives Room, Bank 6 File Cabinet 42, Drawer 3 | ED BEECHERT FILES III | ILWU | 7 | Includes "General History of American Labor Movement" by Labor-Management Education Program, University of Hawaii; ILWU Reading List, "Important Event in Labor History that Happened in May" (2005), Email correspondence "Labor History Websites: A Selected List of items submitted to H-Labor" (2004), "Labor's Untold Story" By Paul F. Cole, "Why Teach Labor History" by James Green, Email Correspondence "ILWU Information List," "Memo: Editorial: A Winning Approach" (2000), NLRB Decision in Coastal Stevedoring Co. (1993), | |
| Archives Room, Bank 6 File Cabinet 42, Drawer 3 | ED BEECHERT FILES III | ILWU Interisland Conference | 8 | ||
| Archives Room, Bank 6 File Cabinet 42, Drawer 3 | ED BEECHERT FILES III | ILWU Territorial Conference | 9 | ||
| Archives Room, Bank 6 File Cabinet 42, Drawer 3 | ED BEECHERT FILES III | ILWU Territorial Conference Material | 10 | ||
| Archives Room, Bank 6 File Cabinet 42, Drawer 3 | ED BEECHERT FILES III | Hilo Longshore Correspondence | 11 | ||
| Archives Room, Bank 6 File Cabinet 42, Drawer 3 | ED BEECHERT FILES III | ILA Charter Request | 12 | ||
| Archives Room, Bank 6 File Cabinet 42, Drawer 3 | ED BEECHERT FILES III | The Employment of Women in the Pineapple Canneries of Hawaii | 13 | ||
| Archives Room, Bank 6 File Cabinet 42, Drawer 3 | ED BEECHERT FILES III | Norwegian Labor in Hawaii: The Norse Immigrants | 14 | ||
| Archives Room, Bank 6 File Cabinet 42, Drawer 3 | ED BEECHERT FILES III | Puerto Rican Immigration to Hawaii | 15 | ||
| Archives Room, Bank 6 File Cabinet 42, Drawer 3 | ED BEECHERT FILES III | Pacific RIm: Labor, Immigration, Tourism | 16 | Regarding Micronesian labor, globalization of labor in the Pacific Islands, tourism, global investment, Commonwealth for the Northern Mariana Islands, Micronesian migration, Saipan Sweatshop, South Pacific, AIDS, Korea entry into Labor Union Act, New Zealand and Australia, Pohnpei, Chuuk, Palau, Federated States of Micronesia, Kosrae, Yap, Labor Law in China appendix | |
| Archives Room, Bank 6 File Cabinet 42, Drawer 3 | ED BEECHERT FILES III | Class and Ethnicity Working Notes | 17 | Includes essay "Ethnicity and Hawaii's Labor Force 1850-1946" by Ed Beechert, "Plantations and Modes of Exploitation" book review by Henry Bernstein and Michael Pitt (UH Library photocopy request), "Marx and the Labor Process: An Interpretation" by David Gartman, "A Note on the Definition of Peasantries" by Sidney W. Mintz (UH Library Photocopy Request), "Some Problems in Enumerating the 'Peasantry' in Cuba" by Brian Pollitt, "Perspective in Marxist Anthropology" by Joel S. Kahn, "Peasants, Proletarianization and the Articulation of Modes of Production: The Case of Sugar Cane Cutters in Northern Peru, 1940-69" by C.D. Scott, "Labour: Congrol, Working Conditions and Unrest," Notes on Reinecke: Language and Dialect, Notes from Katznelson et al: Working Class Formations, 1986, "Work which Determine the Strength or Weakness of Working-Class Consciousness," "Social Class and the Division of Labor" by Anthony Giddens and Gavin MacKenzie, The unorthodox race doctrine in Hawaii" by Romanzo Adams, and other various authors that he notes. | |
| Archives Room, Bank 6 File Cabinet 42, Drawer 3 | ED BEECHERT FILES III | Class: Working Identity | 18 | Articles on class and American identity | |
| Archives Room, Bank 6 File Cabinet 42, Drawer 3 | ED BEECHERT FILES III | Spanish Workers | 19 | 1912 | Correspondence to Hawaii Planters Association from Consulado de Espana |
| Archives Room, Bank 6 File Cabinet 42, Drawer 3 | ED BEECHERT FILES III | The Last Migration of Workers to Hawaii by Anastacio Luis | 20 | 1996 | Regarding Filipino migration to Hawaii to work in 1946 |
| Archives Room, Bank 6 File Cabinet 42, Drawer 3 | ED BEECHERT FILES III | Kamoku and Arakaki correspondence regarding Ola'a: 1948-1950 | 21 | ||
| Archives Room, Bank 6 File Cabinet 42, Drawer 3 | ED BEECHERT FILES III | Filipinos 100 Years FANHS | 22 | Includes news clippings on sakada and commemoration event program | |
| Archives Room, Bank 6 File Cabinet 42, Drawer 3 | ED BEECHERT FILES III | Sadinno Ti Papanam: Selected Issues Affecting Filipinos in Hawaii | 23 | By Tomas C. Hernandez | |
| Archives Room, Bank 6 File Cabinet 42, Drawer 3 | ED BEECHERT FILES III | The Overseas Filipinos: A Working Bibliography | 24 | ||
| Archives Room, Bank 6 File Cabinet 42, Drawer 3 | ED BEECHERT FILES III | Manlapit, Filipinos | 25 | Essay on Filipino organizing and working experience in Hawaii, including on Pablo Manlapit | |
| Archives Room, Bank 6 File Cabinet 42, Drawer 3 | ED BEECHERT FILES III | Montague Lord Report, Filipinos | 25.1 | 1916 | Regarding Montague report to Hawaiian Sugar Planter's Association on Filipino migration and conditions on the plantations; news clippings |
| Archives Room, Bank 6 File Cabinet 42, Drawer 3 | ED BEECHERT FILES III | The Filipinos in Hawaii | 26 | By Danilo E. Ponce | |
| Archives Room, Bank 6 File Cabinet 42, Drawer 3 | ED BEECHERT FILES III | Hawaii Filipino Chronicle | 27 | 1999 | Cover story "All for One, One for All: Filipinos in Labor Unions" |
| Archives Room, Bank 6 File Cabinet 42, Drawer 3 | ED BEECHERT FILES III | Filipino Federation of America | 28 | 1941 | By David Thompson in the Social Process in Hawaii |
| Archives Room, Bank 6 File Cabinet 42, Drawer 3 | ED BEECHERT FILES III | The Filipinos in Hawaii: An Annotated Bibliography | 29 | 1972 | Compiled by Ruben R. Alcantara and Nancy S. Alconcel with Cesar S. Wycoco |
| Archives Room, Bank 6 File Cabinet 42, Drawer 3 | ED BEECHERT FILES III | Carl Damaso | 30 | 1990-1996 | News clippings on Carl Damaso |
| Archives Room, Bank 6 File Cabinet 42, Drawer 3 | ED BEECHERT FILES III | Lou Goldblatt | 31 | 1983 | News clipping on Goldblatt's life |
| Archives Room, Bank 6 File Cabinet 42, Drawer 3 | ED BEECHERT FILES III | Ed Beechert | 32 | News clipping and picture on Beechert's life and scholarship on working class in plantations | |
| Archives Room, Bank 6 File Cabinet 42, Drawer 3 | ED BEECHERT FILES III | Frank Thompson | 33 | 2006 | News clipping biography on Thompson |
| Archives Room, Bank 6 File Cabinet 42, Drawer 3 | ED BEECHERT FILES III | John Reinecke | 34 | 1936-1998 | Funeral program, picture of John Reinecke and play "The Reinecke Case" by Phil Mayer |
| Archives Room, Bank 6 File Cabinet 42, Drawer 3 | ED BEECHERT FILES III | Stevedoring by Koji Ariyoshi | 35 | 1938 | Articles on stevedoring |
| Archives Room, Bank 6 File Cabinet 42, Drawer 3 | ED BEECHERT FILES III | Koji Ariyoshi Articles | 36 | Articles regarding coffee farms in Kona | |
| Archives Room, Bank 6 File Cabinet 42, Drawer 3 | ED BEECHERT FILES III | Koji Ariyoshi Articles: For Which I Stand Indicted | 37 | xerox copies from Honolulu Record regarding regarding Koji's arrest during Hawaii Seven trial and his articles "For Which I Stand Indicted" | |
| Archives Room, Bank 6 File Cabinet 42, Drawer 3 | ED BEECHERT FILES III | Koji Ariyoshi News Clippings | 38 | ||
| Archives Room, Bank 6 File Cabinet 42, Drawer 3 | ED BEECHERT FILES III | Koji Ariyoshi Manuscript by Ed Beechert | 39 | Includes View: PBS Hawaii Biography Guide on Koji Ariyoshi | |
| Archives Room, Bank 6 File Cabinet 42, Drawer 3 | ED BEECHERT FILES III | Cultural Factors in Union Activity of Women in Hawaii | 40 | By Marian Hoffman | |
| Archives Room, Bank 6 File Cabinet 42, Drawer 3 | ED BEECHERT FILES III | Health in Territory of Hawaii | 41 | Includes "Plantation Medicine in Hawaii 1840-1964: A Patient's Perspective" by Lela M. Goodell, "Kahuna Lapa'au" by Larry Kimura, Wyllie (Minister of Foreign Affairs to Lee (Chief Justice) letter reply on reproductive health of Hawaiians (1856), "Ancient Hawaiian Medical Practice Viewed by a Doctor" by Nils P. Larsen, "Just Doing the Best We Can: Development of American Medicine: 1620-1803" by David J. Beck, "Riddles of Nature: The World's Medical Expedition" by David J. Beck, Weinerman correspondence and report regarding medical survey of the Territory of Hawaii (xerox of File Copy ILWU Library) | |
| Archives Room, Bank 6 File Cabinet 42, Drawer 3 | ED BEECHERT FILES III | Interracialism: The Ideological Transformation of Hawaii's Working Class by Moon-Kie Jung | 42 | 2003 | Article published in the Ameircan Sociological Review Vol 68 |
| Archives Room, Bank 6 File Cabinet 42, Drawer 3 | ED BEECHERT FILES III | Hawaii Carpenter's Union Local 745 Pamphlet | 43 | 1989 | |
| Archives Room, Bank 6 File Cabinet 42, Drawer 3 | ED BEECHERT FILES III | Thrum's Annual Sugar Plantations 1875-1900 | 44 | 1875-1900 | |
| Archives Room, Bank 6 File Cabinet 42, Drawer 3 | ED BEECHERT FILES III | Report of the President of the Bureau of Immigration to the Legislative Assembly of 1886, Honolulu, HI | 45 | 1886 |
An
equal opportunity/affirmative action institution.
Use of this site implies consent with our
Usage Policy.
University of Hawaiʻi - West Oʻahu
91-1001 Farrington Hwy
Kapolei, HI 96707
General Assistance
(808) 689-2700
Research Assistance
(808) 689-2703
© James & Abigail Campbell Library at the University of Hawaiʻi - West Oʻahu
