Skip to Main Content

Center for Labor Education & Research Guide : U.S. Labor History

This guide is to provide researcher and student access to information and collections that live in the Center for Labor Education & Research Archive and Reference Library.

Subject Listing

Archives Room, Bank 2, File Cabinet 9, Drawer 2 U.S. Labor History I Union Corruption 1  
Archives Room, Bank 2, File Cabinet 9, Drawer 2 U.S. Labor History I AFL-CIO: Officials & Independent Unions Officials Salaries 2  
Archives Room, Bank 2, File Cabinet 9, Drawer 2 U.S. Labor History I Labor Cap/ Pressmen's Cap 3  
Archives Room, Bank 2, File Cabinet 9, Drawer 2 U.S. Labor History I Labor Party 4  
Archives Room, Bank 2, File Cabinet 9, Drawer 2 U.S. Labor History I U.S. Labor History (Folder 1) 5 Includes catalog "Labor History: Appearing throughout volumes in the acclaimed series The Working Class in American History" edited by David Brody, Alice Kessler-Harris, David Montgomery, and Sean Wilentz, article "A Brief History of the International Chemical Workers Union," "Labor from the Civil War to the Founding of the A.F.L" to "Labor During the New Deal"
Archives Room, Bank 2, File Cabinet 9, Drawer 2 U.S. Labor History I U.S. Labor History (Folder 2) 5.1 "1997 Labor History Calendar," "189 at 75: The voice of Labor Educators," "A Short History of American Labor," AFL-CIO (1981), "Our Union Heritage," AFL-CIO, "Celebrating Apalaʻs First Decade" (2001), "Union Political Activity Spans 230 Years of U.S. History" by AFL-CIO
Archives Room, Bank 2, File Cabinet 9, Drawer 2 U.S. Labor History I U.S. Labor History (Folder 3) 5.2 Includes script "We Find the Defendants Guilty" regarding Philadelphia Shoemakers' strike (1809), aricle "Recalling the 1919 Boston Police Strike," Label Letter "The Great Strike-Lawrence 1912," article "MLK battled with labor movement over economic plight of blacks," flyer for study "Southern Labor and Black Civil Rights" by Michael K. Honey, new books from Charles H. Kerr regarding labor topics like Luddism, labor law for the rank-and-file, film booklet on "Eugene Debs and the American movement: A Documentary Film of Worker Struggle," CLEAR Timeline of U.S. labor history, "Labor Hisotry - U.S.A." "Workers and Work in America 1600 to the Present: A Multimedia Course" Syllabus by Gerald Zahavi (2000), article "Then Days that Shaped America: Pearl Harbor and 9/11 didn't even make the list (2006), "Labor Day and other holidays," "History of the Labor Movement in the Untied States, Vol. II: From the Founding of the American Federation of Labor to the Emergence of American Imperialism" by Philip S. Foner, email correspondence and the Gould Strike of 1885 and pictures of strikes from the 1800s.
Archives Room, Bank 2, File Cabinet 9, Drawer 2 U.S. Labor History I IWW 6 Includes booklet "Preamble, Constitution, and General Bylaws of the Industrial Workers of the World" (2018), "One Big Union: Industrial Workers of the World" (1994)(2), "One Big Union: Industrial Workers of the World" (2001), Informational Flyer"Introduction to the Industrial Workers of the World", Pamphlet "Don't Mourn! Organize: Some Wobbly Proposals for Hawai'i" Newspaper: "Industrial Worker #1567 vol.91 no.2 February 1994"
Archives Room, Bank 2, File Cabinet 9, Drawer 2 U.S. Labor History I IWW: General Organization Bulletins 6.1 Includes: "Industrial Workers of the World: General Organization Bulletin" (Feburary 1996) (April-December 1996),(January-August 1997),(June-December 1998),(March-May 1999), (July 2018)
Archives Room, Bank 2, File Cabinet 9, Drawer 2 U.S. Labor History I Labor Film 7  
Archives Room, Bank 2, File Cabinet 9, Drawer 2 U.S. Labor History I John T. Dunlop 8  
Archives Room, Bank 2, File Cabinet 9, Drawer 2 U.S. Labor History I Bread and Roses 9  
Archives Room, Bank 2, File Cabinet 9, Drawer 2 U.S. Labor History I U.S. Labor History Packet 10 "Labor Studies L101:American Labor History," (1994), CLEAR education packet "Readings In U.S. Labor History," "1877: The Grand Army of Starvation"by American Socialism Project," "U.S. Labor History," "The major events and struggles of the American Labor movement from the Knights of Labor to the AFL-CIO," Teacher's Guide Homestead 1892: An Interactive Reconstruction of the Battle of Homestead from 3 Viewpoints," "Bringing Labor into the K-12 Curriculum: Resource Guide for Teachers" by the AFT California Federation of Teachers (1999), "American Labor History" History/American Studies syllabus by James Kraft (2006)
Archives Room, Bank 2, File Cabinet 9, Drawer 2 U.S. Labor History I Labor Hall of Fame 11 Article "Profiles: Getting Things Done" regarding leadership in the American organized labor movement,
Archives Room, Bank 2, File Cabinet 9, Drawer 2 U.S. Labor History I La Follette 12  
Archives Room, Bank 2, File Cabinet 9, Drawer 2 U.S. Labor History I Labor History Archives 13  
Archives Room, Bank 2, File Cabinet 9, Drawer 2 U.S. Labor History I Civil Rights 14 "The Resolute Spirit of Trade Union Women," IBEW Journal (1992),
Archives Room, Bank 2, File Cabinet 9, Drawer 2 U.S. Labor History I Cesar Chavez 15  
Archives Room, Bank 2, File Cabinet 9, Drawer 2 U.S. Labor History I AFL - CIO: Farm Workers, United 16  
Archives Room, Bank 2, File Cabinet 9, Drawer 2 U.S. Labor History I George Meany 17 Includes "George Meany: The Making of a Freedom Fighter" (1979) (2 copies), information on "how to find the George Meany Center"
Archives Room, Bank 2, File Cabinet 9, Drawer 2 U.S. Labor History I Hawaii Labor History Timelines 18 "Chinatown Burns" Ke Aloha Aina Newspaper (1900), Hawaii Business article "Don't hold your breath" regarding unemployment construction, manufacturing (1994), timeline of American labor history form pre-union to HRS Chapter 89," Report "American Trade Union Movement" by William L. Abbott and Edward T. Beechert regarding American and Hawaiian Labor Movement (2 copies) (1970)./
Archives Room, Bank 2, File Cabinet 9, Drawer 2 U.S. Labor History I United Mine Workers 19 "Proposed Contract between the United Mine Workers of America and the Pittston Coal Group" (1900), correspondence from Kofa Miners' Union No. 98 between Mrs. Conroy and Mother Jones.
Archives Room, Bank 2, File Cabinet 9, Drawer 2 U.S. Labor History I United Mine Workers Journal 19.1 "UMWA Families Fight for Job Security," 100th Year No. 2 (Feburary 1989),
Solidarity," 100th Year No. 6 (June 1989), "Standing Up To Pittston," 100th Year No. 7 (July/August 1989), "Reclaiming Our History," 100th Year No. 8 (Septermber 1989), "1890-1990 A Century of Struggle" 101st Year No. 1 (Janurary 1990), "Victory At Pittston," 101st Year No. 3 (March 1990) ,"The UMWA At 100," 101st Year No. 7 (August/September 1990, "We Never Stand Alone," 101st Year No.10 (December 1990)
Archives Room, Bank 2, File Cabinet 9, Drawer 2 U.S. Labor History I AFL-CIO Break Up 20  
Archives Room, Bank 2, File Cabinet 9, Drawer 2 U.S. Labor History I Workers Memorial Day 21  
Archives Room, Bank 2, File Cabinet 9, Drawer 2 U.S. Labor History I AFL-CIO Merger 22 Includes "100 Years of Struggle and Success" AFL-CIO Timeline from America@Work (2000), "25th Anniversary for the AFL-CIO" by Honolulu Star Bulletin, New York Times AFL-CIO "American Labor Seeks World Peace and Freedom," AFL-CIO attachment to article "The Case Against Compulsary Arbitration" by Kenneth Fiester
Archives Room, Bank 2, File Cabinet 9, Drawer 2 U.S. Labor History I Joe Hill 23  
Archives Room, Bank 2, File Cabinet 9, Drawer 2 U.S. Labor History I CLEAR Education Packets (U.S. Labor History) 24  

 

© James & Abigail Campbell Library at the University of Hawaiʻi - West Oʻahu