Learn more about our resources on women in Hawai'i's plantation history and in the labor movement.
Other CLEAR AV Resources
How can unions better represent women 1978
Woman apprentice in construction work 1979
Hard hats for women 1983
Pineapple women 1984
| Archives Room, Bank 2, File Cabinet 10, Drawer 3 | Women Cabinet | Women's Labor History | 1 | Includes information on Mother Jones | |
| Archives Room, Bank 2, File Cabinet 10, Drawer 3 | Women Cabinet | Women's Packet (Liberation, Job Oppression, Working Wives, etc.) | 2 | ||
| Archives Room, Bank 2, File Cabinet 10, Drawer 3 | Women Cabinet | Women's Group Show | 3 | ||
| Archives Room, Bank 2, File Cabinet 10, Drawer 3 | Women Cabinet | Women in Hawaii Labor History | 4 | a. Hawaii Laborer newspaper by Laborers' International Union of North America | |
| Archives Room, Bank 2, File Cabinet 10, Drawer 3 | Women Cabinet | Working Women in Hawaii | 5 | 5.a. News clippings on Hilo Laundry Union support inter-island strike, b. Labor's Heritage copy of "Into the Marketplace: Working-Class Women in 20th Century Hawaii" by Teresa Bill. c. Article on "Harriet Bouslog: Lawyer, Risk Taker, and Champion of the Underdog" by Esther K. Arinaga in Biography Hawaii; Five Lives, A Series of Public Remembrances | |
| Archives Room, Bank 2, File Cabinet 10, Drawer 3 | Women Cabinet | AFL-CIO: Women's Activities | 6 | ||
| Archives Room, Bank 2, File Cabinet 10, Drawer 3 | Women Cabinet | Hawaii Women Coalition | 7 | ||
| Archives Room, Bank 2, File Cabinet 10, Drawer 3 | Women Cabinet | Women in Unions | 8 | 8 a. News clippings on women in unions, ILWU women's auxiliary, Hilo and Kauai Laundry Girls sit down strike, Voice of Labor Ladies Auxiliary: Anna Kamahele, Ester Kaluhikaua, Lee Kaneao. b. Union Labor Report on Women in Unions (1993). c. News clipping on isle women in unions. d. BNA State and Local News "Organized Labor Must Re-valuate Low-Wage Jobs in Pay Equity Fight, Feminist Supported Issues." e. press release on "The Voices of Women: Oral Histories of the Islands' First settlers," "Into the Marketplace: Working-Class Women in 20th Century Hawaii," newsclippings on women (work at home, girls at workplaces, organizing at Harvard, pay), Helen Lake Kanahele, Women Underrepresented in Unions, OPEIU Delegates elect women, women on welfare, grievances, low wage jobs, male bias, Hashimoto and Camp Smith Case, Rachel Brickman, woman pilot, Diana Kilmury, H-3 women, construction work, image of women in labor communication, women apprentices, laundry workers demand higher wages, Mrs. Basilio B. Fuertes, ILA Ladies Quxiliary . f. "The Resolute Spirit of Trade Union Women: Their Valient Struggles and Poignant Victories" by IBEW Journal 1992. g. Special Report Grooming Women Leaders (1994). h. application packet and brochure for Insitute for Women's Policy Research. i. "Women in the Workforce in the United States" by Joyce D. Miller (1993). j. Transparencies on Ways to Bridge Pay Gap between men and women. k. Department of Health Committee on the Status of women talk with Dr. William Puette on improving wages and benefits through union involvement. L. Changing Lives of Hawaii's Women by Michael F. Miller, HGEA. m. Office Worker Update newsletter by Service Employees Union on Karen Nussbaum and Women's Bureau. n. Order form for book Women and Unions: Forging a Partnership by Dorothy Sue Cobble, Ed. o. Comics on women and work and Women Worker's History comics chapters. p. Institute for Women's Policy Research, Research-in-Brief "What Do Uions Do for Women?" q. U.S. Department of Labor Women's Bureau, Facts on Women Workers (1992). r. Oral History Association Newsletter "Oral History: An Organizing Tool and a Healing Art for Labor Union Women" (1992). s. "Women and the American Labor Movement: From the First Trade Uionis to the Present" by Philip S. Foner. t. brochure and application for 20th Annual Western Regional Summer Institute for Union Women in Honolulu (2001) | |
| Archives Room, Bank 2, File Cabinet 10, Drawer 3 | Women Cabinet | Women in the Labor Force/ Movement | 9 | 9. a. Women joining unions AFL-CIO, b. news clippings on Women at Work: A Given in Hawaii. c. email correspondence frm David Richardson to others regarding NYT article "Equal Pay is leading Concern of Working Women, Survey Finds." d. News article "Senior woman pilot, based here, now finds the sky's unlimited." e. AFL-CIO correspondence from Bill Fletcher and Karen Nussbaum to University Labor Education Centers regarding subject Ask a Working Woman city tours and Facts About Working Women. f. News article "College program encourages women who choose 'man's work'" and "Women are hurdling barriers to jobs in the construction industry." g. Radio Public Service Announcement on "Fair Pay" Announcer Read Copy and list of state radio stations contact information. h. Business week article "Balancing Work and Family: Big returns for companies willing to give family strategies a chance." i. News paper clippings regarding women in unions, labor gender gap, women in work force, and Rosie the Riveter. j. Article "Gender and Union Organizing" by Marion Crain. k. Essay "Union Cultures and Women" in Union Labor Report. l. article "Gender Differences in Attitudes Toward Unions" by Lisa A. Schur and Douglas L. Kruse. m. brochure "Post Office Women for Equal Rights Equals Power" Article "Harassment rules shouldn't be changed"- Star Bulletin 2007. | |
| Archives Room, Bank 2, File Cabinet 10, Drawer 3 | Women Cabinet | Working Moms | 10 | 10. a. News clippings related to working moms needs, discrimination, and court cases. b. "The Self-Sufficiency Standard for Hawaii" regarding transportaion, food, medical care, child care, taxes, and housing, prepared by the Hawaii State Commission on the Status of Women | |
| Archives Room, Bank 2, File Cabinet 10, Drawer 3 | Women Cabinet | Hawai'i's Twentieth-Century Working Women: Labor Feminists in Their Own Right By Dr. Megan Monahan | 11 | ||
| Archives Room, Bank 2, File Cabinet 10, Drawer 3 | Women Cabinet | Labor Heroines Ten Women Who Led The STRUGGLE by Joyce Maupin, You Can't Scare Me... Labor Heroines: 1930s-1980s A Union Wage Pamphlet by Union Women's Alliance to Gain Equality (1981) | 12 | ||
| Women Cabinet | From AQ | 13 | 2005 | 13 a. Booklet "Working Women Count Hawaii: A Survey of Employed Women by Office of the State Director for Vocational Education. b. News clippings on working women, Patricia Putman, state pay regarding sexes, Sunday Today article on Ah Quon McElrath: Her Bottom Line is Human Rights (1986), women of the canneries (Monterey), Fish canneries. c. Article "Giving American Workers a Voice: Ten Rules for Union Political Action" by Geoffrey Garin and Guy Molyneux (1996). d. Essay "The Enduring Labor Movement: A Job-Conscious Perspective" by David Brody in Working Papers in Comparative Labor History. e. Program booklet for Pagdiriwang 1996 including monthly theme on women and the family. f. Program booklet for "With vision, Convictions & a Voice: Women Making History in Labor, Education, and Civil Rights on the Mainland and in Hawaii" featuring Rosalie Keliinoi, Helen Kanahele, Yeiko So, and Betsy Stockton. g. Program booklet for "With Vision, Convictions and a Voice" featuring Mary McLeod Bethune, Marry Harris "Mother" Jones with People Speaking Theater (1986). h. Program booklet for "A Celebration of Life of Ah Quon McElrath: ILWU Social Worker and Social Activist" (2009). i. Correspondence with Aiko Reinecke regarding Journal of Pidgin and Creole Languages and John Reinecke's dissertation (1987). | |
| Archives Room, Bank 2, File Cabinet 10, Drawer 3 | Women Cabinet | Women's Studies | 14 | a. 58 Films and Videos for Women's Studies, b. Monthly Labor Review: A Special Section on Women in the Work Place (1974). |
An
equal opportunity/affirmative action institution.
Use of this site implies consent with our
Usage Policy.
University of Hawaiʻi - West Oʻahu
91-1001 Farrington Hwy
Kapolei, HI 96707
General Assistance
(808) 689-2700
Research Assistance
(808) 689-2703
© James & Abigail Campbell Library at the University of Hawaiʻi - West Oʻahu
